Kawarau Bridge Bungy Jump


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
December 21st 2007
Published: December 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bungy LoveBungy LoveBungy Love

Right before I said, "Omigod... I can't do this now..."
Yesterday I had the day off and no plans so I made one. I decided to finally do a bungy jump. I chose the Kawarau Bridge because it is the first commercial bungy jump in the world. My other option was the Nevis which is much higher.

I was very calm even when he was tying me up. He then said I was up so I scooted out to the edge of the plank. That was the point when the fear started to kick in but at that moment it didn't have much of a chance because he said wave at the camera. I did but didn't notice him saying to wave at the people because this is when I realized that I had to jump into mid-air. After watching the DVD several times I saw that as he was telling me to wave at the crowd I was saying, "omigod... I can't do this now." He said, "Of course you can. Just look straight ahead at the bridge (another bridge), breathe, and I will count you down." I did as he said, he did as he said and I jumped...

I screamed as I fell through the air then
Bungy LoveBungy LoveBungy Love

Forget it! I'm gonna do it anyway!
splash I had gotten dunked in the river even though I had opted not to get that. Coming back up I was in shock of having my head go into the water and then I was falling again and screaming again. I then calmed down and looked around as I slowly bobbed towards the boat.

When the guys in the boat asked how it was I told them I hadn't expected the water and they told me it was because I hadn't dived as I was supposed to. When you jump off you are supposed to make a big dive off. I had fully intended to do that and the DVD shows me starting but then I just... moved off somehow. When I tried to stand up I was just shaking, it was so hard just to stand. The guy gave me his hand and helped me out onto the steps, I said thank you and started walking up.

I was actually quite happy to have gotten dunked and I would gladly do the whole thing over again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Bungy LoveBungy Love
Bungy Love

AAAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!! ... AAAaaaaaaaa!! ... Aaa! ... Aaa!


24th December 2007

Good for you!
I am happy that you have to ability to overcome your fears and do what you want to do. I would never do that as I would never want to do it, but I am happy for you and your courage. I just realized that it is Christmas day there, so Merry Christmas! I wish you were here. xoxoxox Love you loads and loads.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb