Moke Lake Camping Trip


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
November 8th 2007
Published: November 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

FireworksFireworksFireworks

The aftermath
November 6th was the day Jordana and I spent the whole day at Moke Lake. We arrived on the 5th around 7:30 or 8pm. We then tried to set up the tent near a place that had already been used for fires and had firewood. It was in the open and it was very windy so we decided to move to a more sheltered area. We set the tent up amongst some bush, ate a samosa, talked and fell asleep.

Around 9:30 am we got up and started our day by going for a stroll. We picked a spot by the lake and stayed there all day until the sun set and it got too cold, which was around 8pm. During this time I ate; two oranges, two pears, two apples, a kiwi, a banana (yes, a banana), a carrot, and some peanuts. After what we figured was 24 hours from the Samosa the night before we ate some smoked fish. We then talked a bit and fell asleep.

On the third day I woke up at 7:15am. I heard some cheep outside and when I opened the tent, I saw them about 30 feet away. After a short stroll, I went back into the tent where Jordana was waking up. We set up on the same spot as the day before and sat there until about 1pm. I ate an orange, a kiwi, a pear, a piece of bread, some celery and some peanuts.

The point of this trip was to try to cleanse ourselves. We spent the days reading, writing, debating, or just resting. It was a very good camping trip, very sunny, a bit windy, lots of sheep and birds, and a few pesky flies. On the first night, as it was Guy Fawkes Day, some people came and were setting off fireworks. In the morning we found the mess they left but on the next day the Department of Conservation workers came and cleaned it up.

Moke Lake is in a small valley; to one side are hills with sheep, to the other hills with dry brush. It's definitely a farming area, no real trees.

On another note, my visa was successfully renewed. I can now remain in New Zealand until October 25th, 2008. The only thing is I have to stay as a room attendant for Accor Hotels in Queenstown. I
MeMeMe

Relaxing
can change that but I would have to apply through immigration again. I don't mind right now though, my job is of very little significance to my life. It provides me with many things and doesn't take a lot back from me. There are many things aside from work that are filling my soul as well. I am well contended with life in the moment.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The BananaThe Banana
The Banana

This is my proof that I really ate a whole banana.
The sunThe sun
The sun

How beautiful
The hillsThe hills
The hills

The sheep side of things.
SheepSheep
Sheep

Grazing outside our tent in the morning.


8th November 2007

Yay!
Yay! Congrats on the visa! So glad you're doing well down there!

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb