Franz Josef


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
October 13th 2007
Published: October 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

WanakaWanakaWanaka

Our first stop on the way to Franz Josef.
I can't believe I haven't posted in three weeks...

I moved in with the woman I mentioned. It seems to be going quite well although I've only been there less than two weeks so I won't count my chickens just yet. I really like the atmosphere of the neighbourhood. I'm living in a cabin in a "Holiday Park" right against the mountain. I'm surrounded by nature and it smells so good.

It turns out I did have to do the medical for my work permit but I had already decided that I wanted to stay enough that I would pay it. Either way, the company is paying for the permit so that lifts a bit of it off me. I get my results of the medical in two days so hopefully everything will be done by then and it can be sent off. I'm not really stressing too much over it anymore, there's not much I can do at this point.

So now to the travel part. On Friday I boarded the bus to Franz Josef. Within a few hours I realized that being on the road again was exactly what I needed. I had made a pact with myself not to think of anything that could possibly stress me out and it worked quite well. I think taking buses in New Zealand is a lot different than taking buses in Canada. Here people are travelling and at least somewhat enjoying the journey rather than just hoping their destination is coming soon.

Shortly after Lake Hawea we were on the west side of the island. It clouded over and all phone reception was gone for the next five hours. On arriving in Franz Josef I checked myself in and then went to have a look at the glacier walks. Jordana arrived shortly afterwards. We booked our half-day trek, had some of the free soup from the backpacker, and then relaxed in the hot tub.

The next day we showed up just in time at 12:30pm. They talked to us a bit, geared us up and got us on the bus. I didn't look at my watch at all but they told us that it took about 45 minutes from the car park to the base of the glacier. At that point we put on our crampons and climbed up the glacier. It didn't feel like we
WaterfallWaterfallWaterfall

Before two days of rain.
had gotten very far onto it before we had to turn around and go back. When we got back we gave back the gear, ate more free soup and hopped in the hot tub again.

That night we went out and one thing led to another and we got a ride back to Queenstown on a tour bus for free. It was really good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Free soupFree soup
Free soup

Me and Jordana
Chateau FranzChateau Franz
Chateau Franz

Our backpacker
GlacierGlacier
Glacier

It looks a lot closer than it is.
GlacierGlacier
Glacier

It looks smaller than it is.
GlacierGlacier
Glacier

Peeking out.
UsUs
Us

Jordana and I
GlacierGlacier
Glacier

The wave
GlacierGlacier
Glacier

Our guide running down the steps he carved earlier that day.
Lake MathesonLake Matheson
Lake Matheson

On our way back to Queensown.
WaterfallWaterfall
Waterfall

After two days of rain.


13th October 2007

From back in Canada, eh!
Wow, that is so freakin awesome! Totally beats sitting in my living room studying, watching the leaves change on the hills out my window... Maybe I'll have to win the lottery and come see you in the summer, wherever you are.
18th October 2007

In the NZ summer, I'll be here. In the Canadian summer... I'll be here or OZ.

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0145s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb