SKIING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Queenstown, Coronet Peak


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
July 22nd 2007
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

Queenstown - the land of extreme sports. The birth place of the commercial bungee jump - just one of the mad things available to try and scare the crap out of yourself! Also a lively place to spend the evening with plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants. But at this time of year it's perfect for a spot of snowboarding/skiing with two big ski areas within 20 minutes of the town.

We managed to find a great deal, it included 3 days (22nd - 25th) skiing & lift passes & equipment, well everything we needed basically plus lots of extra freebies AND our accomodation for 2 nights. Sorted. The price for a whole days skiing and equipment hire was less than one bungee jump!

We made the most of each and every day, arriving each day at 8.30am, making us one of the first on the slopes every day we were there. Arriving before all the kids and familes and the hundreds was the best part of the day having the slopes to our selves, hmmmmm, perfect. Given that I had never been skiing before, it was up to Caroline to teach me the basic. (We did have the option of free group lessons but the groups were huge and I'm very impatient). And thanks to Caroline's patience with me I had mastered the easy stuff after a few runs down the slopes. (There was a collision with a fence 30 seconds after putting my skis on it didn't put me off!) There was also a pretty hilarious incident on the second day when we moved into an area of the slopes we hadn't been to before. Once we got down there, the only way on was to take a t-bar lift that pulled you up to the top of the slope while you tried hard not to fall over. Well Caroline fell over straight away, I stayed on and presumed she would take the next bar behind me - which she did. But after a few minutes and being on half way to the top she got a cramp and fell over again. As I got to the top I waited for her, and waited, and waited. There was no sign of her. After nearly 15 minutes I guessed that maybe she didn't get back on the lift and was waiting at the bottom. So I set off. Little did I know I was going down a black slope (advanced skiers only). Well I crapped myself, I mean I'd only being skiing for less than a day. It felt so steep - I virtually slid my way down to the bottom on my arse. And once there a finally spotted Caroline being helped towards me by a ski instructor. Turned out she had been lying half way up the mountain for over 20 minutes while people went past on the lift - and not one of them asked if she was ok but the pretended not to see her. Nice people!

We had a good laugh about it afterwards, and the rest of the time went without any hitches and despite aching legs we really didn't want to leave on the final day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



15th August 2007

skiing!!!!!!
Well you finally managed to experience skiing Chris and your blog sounds hilarious, just like something off Dumb and Dumber!!! I'm glad you managed to to stay in one piece after your adventures on the black slopes. Keep the blogs coming. Loads of love Mumxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.2437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb