I'm coming out of my cage and I've been doing just fine...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
June 20th 2007
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wow, God is amazing!

I wanted to assure you all that I'm still surviving here in Queenstown, although I'm still broke as, but in a way that just makes me rely on God and understand how much he loves me more and more.

So, to sum it up, I was able to get work for accommodation. How great is our God? Sing with me...

Now, get this, I went to every hostel in Queenstown and no one needed workers. Most of them laughed at me and said they were set for the season. One place said to check back in a week. I didn't have enough money to last a week. I was getting really really discouraged and kinda freakin out. In case you don't know, I have money issues. I was at the end of my rope when God tapped me on the shoulder and asked me if I was done swimming up stream. The whole time I've been paddling against the current while God watched me from his motor boat. I finally got tired and turned it over to God, climbed in the boat and dried off.

I was out walking when it hit me. I prayed that God would provide for me. Not even asking him to, but just acknowledging that he would and thanking him for taking care of me when I let him. Literally, with enough money for only one more night, I was laying in bed reading and trying not to freak out (also, all the while I've been looking for a paying job as well, and was having even worse luck there. Nothing doing in Queenstown right now.) when Neal, one of the managers, came in to replace a duvet cover. Out of no where he brings up how one of their workers decided to leave unexpectedly. I'd already asked about work here but got the "set for the season" speech. Then, wham-o, this girl decided to just bail. Peace out. And, lo and behold, they needed a worker. After schmoozing the lady who decides, I was able to get the job and started next day. I have also been in touch with Greenpeace and was able to do an interview last Monday, which should give me a couple more dollars to put towards food (I'm living on eggs and instant noodles right now...) and then I'll be able to work full time around the 25th of June. It is just so amazing to see God's hand in my life and to accept his grace and provision. It blows my mind!

So, now days I'm just trying to stay warm in the freezing cold that is Queenstown. The weather has not been cooperating and it hasn't snowed at all in 12 days, and even then that was only a little bit (nothing down here, only up on the top of the mountains). The slopes have opened, but only limited runs are available and most people that have been said it wasn't worth the time, money, and effort to get up there. On the plus side (if you can call it that), I don't have enough money to snowboard anyway, so I guess it doesn't really matter. I'm down to under $25 to last me until I get paid from GP, which, if it works out, should be two weeks from today. I am doing pretty well, just stretching food to last me and raiding the "free food" bin like a homeless man in a dumpster. It's amazing how much food you can get for cheap when you're creative and watch for sales.

As of Friday I'll be the sole survivor of Queenstown from the Kiwi Experience bus. This morning was a mass exodus, marking pretty much the last of the crew departing. There are a handful of other stragglers, but they are all about to disappear as well. I've been feeling a little down lately, feeling stuck in the worst of two options. My one option was to stay until November and work on the slopes and snowboard all season. The other option would be to come home now and start life back in the free world. But, here I am, with neither. I don't get to snowboard and I don't get to see my loved ones. And all my other friends are gone or leaving. It's been a little depressing. But, I'm sure that God has a reason for me to be here and I'm striving to learn what it is. And, if nothing else, I guess I can just enjoy the sites of Queenstown, which is one of the most stunning places I've seen. The snow capped Remarkables are humbling, the lake is dwarfing, and hikes are breathtaking. Pray for me as I finish up the last 6 weeks in NZ that I will not lose sight of God's plan for me and that I can put him first in all that I do.

You are beautiful and I love you. I count the days until we meet again.

An ice stalactite,
Daniel

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb