Man, you been a naughty boy, you let your face grow long...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
July 4th 2007
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, AMERICA!!!

As most of you probably know, I'm not the most patriotic guy in the world. America has a lot of problems and, let's face it, not such a good global image. However, Russ Anderson was absolutely correct when he told me how much more you learn to appreciate the States once you've left them for a while. Now that I've been gone 8 months (to the day), I can tell you that I really do love America and I'm stoked to come back. I don't care what the rest of the world says, America really is an amazing country and I reckon they are all just jealous. That does not negate the problems we as a country do have, but it's easy to get caught up in those negatives and lose sight of the positives. Anyway, God bless America. And the rest of the world, too, while he's at it. God bless us, everyone. Ok, now I'm getting carried away.

I have not had too much to report recently, hence I have not written for a little. Things here in Queenstown are same ol' stuff, different day, especially now that I've started working. Everyday is just about the same thing: wake up, clean, eat, go door to door to fight the global destruction of the environment, eat, watch a film, pass out, repeat. But, yesterday was cause for celebration. First of all, the United States' birthday. As the token American, I felt I should represent. Second, and maybe more importantly, it was PAY DAY! I woke up with three digits on my account balance. I have almost $400 and it feels like millions after living on literally $60 for the last month. So, I did the best thing I could think of, and paid too much for a nice dinner out with my mates. And believe me, after instant noodles and baked beans, I ate like a post-pageant super model on a binge (but without the purge). I drank hot cocoa with fancy marshmallows in an artsy glass and enjoyed every drop of the delicious chocolaty goodness.

Also, now that I have money, I can start to think about snowboarding! Well, I can think about actually going snowboarding, since I've been thinking about it since I arrived here. I still have no definite plans, but I'm doing the leg work now.

In other news, for the those of you keeping track, I will be back State side in 22 days, a far cry from the looming 9 months that I started with. It still feels surreal, to think that I'll be leaving New Zealand and boarding an airplane to fly home so soon. I can still remember when it was a surreal 22 days until I left for the land of Kiwis.

God is still good. Just in case you were wondering. Sometimes it's good to be reminded, so I figured I would just toss that in there.

The weather here has been rather gross lately, but, despite the inclement forecast, my results have been really good. I am having the most consistent amount of sign-ups I think I ever have, which is really encouraging. Last week I doubled the target for dollar per hour sign ups, which is great for self-esteem as well as for my next pay which will reflect that. Sweet as.

Speaking of weather, last time I wrote I said how we had not had any snow and the season was dragging. Well, shortly thereafter Queenstown got nailed by a storm, the likes of which had not been seen for three decades. Over three days Queenstown town (as opposed to surrounding areas or ski fields) was coated with the most single snow fall in over 30 years and more snow than all of last year cumulative. The city stopped. This was the day that we started working for Greenpeace, making it an interesting opening day. Trying to walk up hills was very difficult, going three steps forward and then sliding back to the bottom. Treacherous. It also happened the day before Winterfestival was meant to start. Winterfestival is the biggest event Queenstown has, spanning 10 days and featuring heaps of concerts, events, fireworks, and other celebrations of the winter season. However, the opening weekend of Winterfestival was cancelled on account of, well, winter. Rather ironic, right Alanis? Then, just to make things fun, the weather decided to get really warm for a couple of days and the last few events (big air competitions and half pipe shows) got cancelled because it was too warm and snow was melting. We just couldn't win. Now days, though, it's cold. sometimes rainy, sometimes not, but always cold.

Matt just got done working in Wellington and is fixin to take a road trip with Paul, a mate we knew in Auckland, down around the South Island. I'm really excited to see him again when he gets to Queenstown.

Greenpeace wants me to go to Wanaka (a small town about 1.5 hour drive, a little over a hundred kms) for about a week to work there, but I'm not sure if I really want to. It could be fun, but I have free accommodation here and friends to hang with. There is a German bloke Tom (I don't know why I always end up with Germans...) that is also doing work for accommodation and we recently hired for Greenpeace with whom I have become good friends. There is not much to do in Wanaka if you're not snowboarding, which, I guess I could do that for a day, but other than that I'd be sitting around the hostel or out trying to entertain myself with walks. I'm not sure if I'll go. Pray that I get some direction.

For now I'm working and playing, although more the former than latter, and counting down days until I see you all again. It's a hard time for me in that I still don't do too well with transitions and I have all these mixed emotions. I'm happy and sad and back again; I'm not crying out too much.

I don't mean to get preachy, although I guess I tend to do that a lot, but I was reading an interesting article on climate change on Reuters that is talking about this years weather. If you have a chance, check it out. And, if you haven't, watch an Inconvenient Truth. Heck, even if you have seen it, watch it again. This is something that I'm really passionate about and I and needs to be taken seriously. How long did America sit idly by, knowing full well what Hitler was doing, before entering World War II? We look back and ask "why did it take so long to step up and do the right thing?" I don't want my kids and grand kids to have to ask my why we let things get so bad before we started to make them better. Why sit around when we can start to make a difference now. Attached is an energy audit we are doing here in New Zealand, but, despite the savings and costs being in NZ dollar values, there are some great ideas on it about how you can save some money while protecting Mother Earth. Love the planet God gave us.

Ok, well, I am about to go climb up the gondola hill (again) and enjoy the great weather we are having today and the stunning view of the Remarkables. I may even go lugging now that I have money.

My thoughts and prayers are with you all.

Take care and be well.

Love always,
Daniel


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb