Last Day in South Island


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
March 21st 2008
Published: March 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Two days in a nunnery and I am now a reformed character... I am going to make sure that I try to cook lamb as well as the chef at the hotel. Gosh - it really was relicious - a rack of lamb which was so tender and juicy without dripping any blood. Yummy!! The chowder and puddings were good too - and yes, I have probably not lost any weight on this trip either!! (The rye bread was so light and it had caraway seeds in it - very good mix!)

The meals have been exceptionally good and watching people in the hostels prepare their food has been interesting too - they have made their own dough for bread and pizzas, a couple here are just making scones which smell divine. Think I shall come back with my wish to cook well and truly revived, Then there are the summer crops to come as well. Watch out snails and slugs in my garden - I shall be after you again this year!

Today I drove from the nunnery in Kaikoura up to Picton, ready to catch the ferry tomorrow morning. It is Good Friday here and so my plan to buy a box of wine failed from the start, as the wineries were all shut - BAD planning that. But the journey was improved by teh route being one that a veteran car group used, so I followed some lovely old vehicles alonf the road - some of which I have never seen before - butI have their photos. I overtook one, then hared up the road, stopped and took its photo, only to catch up with the group at a cafe just along the road. Lunch was taken very early at a cafe which sold olive oil, and delicious coffee, so I ate some of their seafood pie, which was so tasty - again one of my top meals over here.

I was lucky enough to get the last camping site in the The Jugglers Rest in Picton which is a lovely hostel. So far I have been learning some new tricks with long socks filled wit bran at hte end. This is going ot be the end of any bingo wings!! Tonight their is going to be a grand jugglres gathering apparently, so watch this space!!

Advertisement



21st March 2008

Juggling??
But you are a teacher, and they are supposed to be good at juggling?!
21st March 2008

So much to see!!
Hi Lizzie p. Seems as though you could spend twice, three times as long there and still have plenty to see. No 'cheap shots' about the nunnery though. It would be good to get another day at the cricket in Napier on your way north? Apparently Hawkes Bay is nice. Jugglers sound fun!! Love, John
24th March 2008

Juggling
Yes, and I have lots more ideas for it too!! How goes the kitchen and its floor? Was it done before your neighbour returned?

Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb