5..4..3..2..1.....JUMP!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Queenstown
February 23rd 2006
Published: February 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello

Wo bist du?
I hope everyone is having a great week.
For me

Life is good . Life is good...
Can i say how great it is to finish a 4 day trek in the mountains of Fjordland and have a car to get into and hit the open road. Radio on and the sunshine out...

Well. Let's rewind.
The Rugby match. Over in Dundin. What a time that was!!.. I'll set the scene. The stadium held about 40,000. Two-thirds of it was covered from the rain, with a civilized, tea drinking crowd. Older folks, Proper. The other third was uncovered and in the rain FILLED with high school, all the college students, and anyone else buying the cheap tickets. That was my section. It was a riotous party for 2 HOURS. They only sold beer by the 6-PACK!! Sounds/ music straight from braveheart started and then the bagpipes marched out. That was soo sweet to hear. Then the Highlanders have their own fight song. (college style) Then a giant with broad sword in hand ran out and DEMANDED your allegiance. Then the team....
The match began. I like the game and won't get into a lot of detail about it but it was good and the crowd was very knowledgeable. They react to the slightest move or wrong call. I loved it. We won 27-13. I am very glad i went.

I rolled through Invercargill and hit Te Anau
Nice place.
I hit the Milford Sound. No words. Sorry. You must all see for yourselves.

The Kepler track was amazing. Fjordland is magnificent. I've seen what Norway has but this SW South Island area is another story..
The 4 day hike brought you from sea level to about 3,000 ft in about 2 or so hours. Then you spend the next day traveling along connecting ridges with amazing views of the glaciated, extreme topography of Fjordland. I alway have camped on all the tracks i've done but i wanted to try the big Hut for a night. Mt Luxmoore Hut was a 50 bunk palace. Very social. Very close quarters with lots of bunks in two seperate bunk rooms. You can imagine all the things i don't need to say.
I did meet an older couple from England. They were very informative. Esp. about Scotland. They spend part of each summer there. After I told them that i will be there in august, Rick i guess spent the next day thinking/planning the best route for me to take with the Highlands of the NW being the priority since i will only have 3 weeks there. So, at the next stop at the end of the day, i pitched my tent and headed over to the Iris burn Hut where they were and Rick wrote me out an itenerary. Very nice of him.....I may see them in London before I fly to Reykjavik. We'll see. So, Bas, it's on... figure your crap out and grab your trekkers!!
I need to book the flights out of Amsterdam soon to get a good fare. Thats all......

I finished the hike through the 40 shades of green beech forested valley. Moss of all types and alpine parrots kawing. I had the trail to myself that morning. Very special time....
Reverie my friends

I hiked 28 Km that final day. Skipped the shuttle ride out to save time and money and got to my car and hit the road. I grabbed some fish, chips and ice cream for the road and to Queenstown i went....

This town is crazy. Tourist central and with every adrenaline activity available , i see why. That reminds me, 15 minutes ago, i jumped off this 140ft bridge into the clear mountain river below and was bungy-ed back up and down......Talk about heart-stopping. Its solo and you must !!! jump. I loved it. !!!!! What a feeling.

Well, i camped out of town last night. 15 min drive up and over the hill to Moke lake. Not a bed to be had here in town. A short drive over a gravel mtn road and i have a lake and its towering mountain views to myself. Not a soul. And free. I was soo happy. Rained most of the night. Got cold though. almost into the 30's. wind chill well into. I drove into town and sneaked a shower at the local holiday park. Warm and clean. It'd been awhile..

Well, the town is mine tonight. I guess it gets rockin after 11pm.

Rain is in the forcast, and lots of it... We'll see about my next planned trek. No worries. I'll go with the flow. Wanaka tomorrow. Slow paced mtn town. I prefer it...

that is all....

more or less

what a wonderful world


love Jonathan



*Statement of the week:

I don't think animal testing is a good idea,

they get all nervous and give the wrong answers

Advertisement



Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb