That's the test of all tests, count me in...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Central Otago » Wanaka
February 26th 2006
Published: February 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The day i rolled out of Queenstown i was enlightened a bit.

Talked that morning with this crazy, hard core eco-challenge guy, a local. He told me of crazy endurance challenge races the south island has to offer. I am out of luck on some but there is one he likes to do by himself that is an absolute challenge. With an early start, you have the way to yourself. At the turnaround spot you have one of the most beautiful and spiritual views in this country. On a clear day that is. Which is rare.

So, this is the last weekend of the summer. Autumn begins tomorrow. So i celebrated the end of summer with a test of will. The last sunny day for awhile.
Woke at 6am
An hours' drive from Wanaka got me to the rasberry rd. roadend (trailhead to Mt Aspiring valley) An hours' trail run up the valley surrounded by giant glaciated mountains brought me to Mt Aspiring Hut. There is where you get your first glimpse of Mount Aspiring. An incredible peak with several glaciers carving their way through time.

The way/ trail is up from there. The only thing slowing you is the burn of your own weakness. Up and up, a million switchbacks grabbing anything you can to give aid. Once you break out of the forest and then up to the top, you see why and what my brief friend spoke of with such truth.
Down and across the creek and over to the saddle, the Cascade saddle and to one of the most magnificent spectacles i have ever laid eyes on. Massive glaciers carving their way down the mountains on my left and the south face of Mount Aspiring to my right across the valley i had just run up.
I had the time and the land to myself.
How fortunate i am to have that day. Burned into memory...

I ran down, and then down the valley from which i had come. The sun had since taken a different angle and everything took on a different look. Where i started was different because of where i had been.

Water flowing out from under the glaciers and down the valley is the best thing for a body destroyed by this test. I jumped in. Cold as can be but it felt so good.

The maps and signs at the start say that it should take 2hr + 5hr one way, 14 hours RTand only to be done as a multi-day trek. I did it in 7hrs RT. My friend a good hour better than i but he is rediculous. Almost 6,000 ft of elevation gained and lost. In a little over 2 miles.

And my body is feeling/paying for it now today. I love the feeling of being broken down and sore. Always have. You feel alive and good because you know you have accomplished something that your body and mind were not used to.

Well, i just wanted to share that with whomever reads this and cares.

That is all

Side note

I have found this place. To live here and raise a family. This would be it. Lots of job opportunities. If there wasn't more to come in the world after next month, you would never see me again. Sorry.... force you all to come HERE...

I will head up the west coast in the morning. The weather rolls in. I must go or i will never.
See what Franz J has to say...

Have a good week

Love
Jonathan





Advertisement



26th February 2006

Beautiful!!!
Your descriptions sound soooo wonderful. I am very happy that you are experiencing this. Only hope that we will soon experience traveling together!! Soon!! LOVE YOU VERY MUCH!! SISTER-
27th February 2006

Never come back!
You can always return - settle - and do the family thing after you have seen the world tour! Zealand sounds sweet - and to think after all the countries I have seen - I settled on the Rez! I guess it is all in who you love... Peace Bro - glad you are having the time of your life - I have dropped weight - and work is a constant with 6 quarter horses... Jeff
3rd March 2006

Exploring
We shall not cease from exploration And the end of all our exploring Will be to arrive where we started And know the place for the first time. Eliot

Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb