Penguins are so Cute!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Dunedin
February 28th 2005
Published: September 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Otago PeninsulaOtago PeninsulaOtago Peninsula

Great views
Yesterday was Shiri's last day here. Unfortunately it was also the most uneventful... Dunedin is not very interesting. We strolled in the town, saw another botanic garden with an aviary (birds zoo), we had some music in the park, nice lunch (in a restaurant for a change). This morning we kissed goodbye and she started the long journey home.
Then I started the short journey to Otago Peninsula. It's a peninsula close to Dunedin with some nice things: first, the only "chateau" in NZ. Real lovely one, build about 130 years ago by a show off reach banker (financed by his wife's money aparently...)
Then there are the wonderful views on the narrow piece of sea between the shore and the peninsula (what's the word for that in english?).
And of course, the animals. I went to a penguin colony and saw the cutest penguins, they are lovely creatures. And I saw also fur seals, one posed some swimming and diving right in front of me. And last, I saw an Albatros! It is HUGE!

On the way back I was tired and pulled on the side in a small parking lot to rest, I do that when I am
Swimming Fur SealSwimming Fur SealSwimming Fur Seal

(for Israelis: "sea dog") Saw so many of them here
too tired to drive (mom, you see you can trust me :-). Only problem was I left lights on... battery was dead when I wanted to continue. I was frustrated. I tried to stop cars to help and nobody stopped. I was almost in tears, went back to the car to try and push it closer to the road, maybe it will help. Then a motorbike came in and asked what happened. He was so good. First, I didn't cry... then he pushed the car, and then he managed to get a car to stop for us in 10 seconds. In 5 minutes all was OK. So to this 2 Kiwi guys (both good looking of course, in case you remember previous posts... girls' only :-), I don't know your names and you don't read my blog but still:
T H A N K Y O U !!!!!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Pinguins!!!Pinguins!!!
Pinguins!!!

They leave in couples, and just like us, sometimes they get divorced!
Pinguins!!! (2)Pinguins!!! (2)
Pinguins!!! (2)

This couple seems more in love...


28th February 2005

have fun
so now u r on your own have fun and take care. did u meet other people' that can travell with u? miss u daniel - daniel
1st March 2005

To Daniel
I am starting to travel with someone today (I just put it in the last post). And I hardly had time to be on my own the last 2 days :-) I miss u too!
7th March 2005

Otago
We had flat tire in the castle... one nice old Japaneese helped me change it... Shahar - Shahar
11th December 2006

PeNgUiNs aRe sO CuTe!!!!!!!
i sWeAr tO GOd ThAt ThEy aRe sO cUtE!!!!! i wIsH tHaT i cOuLd hOlD oNE AnD HaVe oNe. wElL lOvE YoU bYE~*wInONa HuGs aNd kIssEs xOxO XoXo XOXO*~

Tot: 0.396s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 20; qc: 85; dbt: 0.2145s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb