Nelson


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region
November 6th 2008
Published: November 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi, I've now crossed over the Cook Straits to the South Island and I'm in Nelson. On Monday I saw the boiling hot mud pools, the hot springs and the Geysers. Absolutely amazing and I wished I could have spent the whole day exploring Rotarua. However others on the trip were not as interested as me. We travelled South to Lake Taupo and on to a fishing lodge. I had an interesting walk a long a river famous for trout fishing. The rooms at this hotel were lovely and we had a delicious meal. The next day we travelled south through the middle of the NORTH Island. We passed active volcanoes covered in Snow and also through a desert area (which surprised me!) to the capital City of Wellington. It lived up to its reputation as a windy city! We visited the beautiful old wooden Church of St Paul and also the Parliament buildings. The 2 hour visit to the Museum on the Harbour front did not do it justice. I could have spent a whole day and still not have seen all its wonderful exhibitions.
On the 5th of November we sailed for the South Island. A surprisingly smooth crossing with amazing scenery. I loved the little town of Picton where the ferry docked and thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Montana winery that followed. The Journey to Nelson passed through a very interesting landscape that kept me fascinated (soI didn't dose off). I'm glad I didn't have to drive!
Today I've been to the Abel Tasmin National Park. It was a long journey by coach and boat. However the views of the coastline and wild life made it worthwhile. We went on a bush walk to a waterfall and then ate a picnic on the beach.
Tomorrow I head down the west coast to Greymouth and then to the Glaciers.
This holiday is going so quickly. I can't believe I'm halfway through!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb