Nelson Lakes


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Golden Bay
February 5th 2007
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I spent my days off last week in Nelson Lakes National Park (about an hours drive from Nelson and three from Takaka where I am living). It was a very successful trip minus the fiasco of getting there which I will leave out for the sake of certain potential readers. The park is situated next to the little town of St Arnaud (which is really just a hostel, a lodge, a general store and the visitor center). The hostel I stayed in had a ski chalet feel and I had some worth while conversations with other travelers both nights I was there. The one that stands out in my mind was with a woman from Switzerland who owned a tattoo and piercing shop. She was married but had been traveling for three months and had only contacted her "husband" once. I spent the first afternoon wandering the network of trails on the lake front (just a five minutes walk from "town"). On Friday I was able to do a longer day hike that actually took me above the bush line.

I was slightly aggravated for most of the hike because I had been told there was a view but all I saw for three hours were switch backs followed by switchbacks of trees and more trees. Finally I arrived at the top, the sign marking the summit literally within an arms reach and unknowingly stepped up onto the saddle and was rewarded with phenomenal panoramic views of the St Arnaud range as well as several others and a sprinkling of glacial lakes and windswept faces. It was incredibly windy so I had to scurry over the other side of the saddle to eat my picnic lunch which by that point was smashed but delicious!

Now I am back in Takaka working my last few shifts and finishing up all the odds and ends I have been trying to finish the entire month I have been here. My friend Jody is coming up from Wanaka to meet me on Monday to do some tramping in the Cobb Valley so I'll have to find a way to pack all the stuff I have some how collected these past few weeks. If you hold still too long as a traveler, you acquire too much stuff. Its a never ending battle against oneself to reduce the things you own....at least for me.

If I maintain my promise to myself for this trip, which was to never allow myself to become too comfortable in any one place, than I will have long outstayed my welcome in Golden Bay. I truly wish I could bring all of you here for a day to experience what I have loved about my time here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



8th February 2007

Exactly what kind of fiasco did you have getting to Nelson National Park?
10th February 2007

Nelson Lakes
These are almost the most beautiful pictures yet. Can hardly believe that the deep blue color is real. It reminds me of the Aegean Sea off the coast of Greece.............I guess it has to do with what is growing in the sea..........the Mediterranean also. Love you, E
11th February 2007

Vicarious living
Hey Em! Now that I've finally gotten connected to your blog, I'm totally digging it. Can't wait for the next installment to continue this vicarious living of beautiful places and carefree existence. My reality is one of complete incapacitation as I lie on the couch recovering from foot surgery. Love, Kim

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb