Tiny Takaka


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Golden Bay
January 23rd 2007
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lovely Leyla at workLovely Leyla at workLovely Leyla at work

My beautiful friend from Canada who met her beautiful Italian boyfriend Rob while traveling in Australia and working at an ear candle factory.
I realized yesterday that I am the happiest right now in Takaka that I have been since my first summer in the Tetons. I guess its the discovering of a new place and the finding a life inside it, the feeling that I could stay forever nestled in this little south island nook, cradled by the waves, lulled by the beaches and embraced by the bare footed people who may have come yesterday or been here a lifetime.

I love the one street town and its artful shops and colorful stalls. The restaurant I am working for (the Brigand) is at the end of Commercial street following a row of shops including the Dangerous Kitchen who's 50 year old hippie owner serves trance music with her herbal teas. Across the street is the Organic Grocery store where I stop almost every morning to buy a banana and peruse the shelves stocked with glass bottles full of beans and oats and brown bags of grains. There is the Quiet Revolution (a bicycle shop owned by a family whos children will merrily point you in the right direction for a ride along the beach or a pedal to the Mussel Inn Restaurant
the dessert menu and methe dessert menu and methe dessert menu and me

The list of our delicious desserts at the Brigand has to be carted around to each table that wants a look (which is everyone).
and Bar, famous for giving a free pint to anyone who brings in a possum tail), a tiny post office and a chemist (that services all of golden bay). There are beaches and rivers and swimming holes and endless sunshine. There is a sense that those who come never leave and that you may be here forever along with them.

It is a beautiful place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Golden Bay OrganicsGolden Bay Organics
Golden Bay Organics

healthy food for a healthy soul
My flatMy flat
My flat

I am living in a flat behind the restaurant I work in for free. I love having my own space and there is a sky light so I fall asleep looking at the southern cross. There is a fridge and microwave but no stove so I just use my camp stove on the deck outside which is twice as fun anyway.
The BrigandThe Brigand
The Brigand

The owners grandmother named the restaurant and I have been told that a Brigand is like a good hearted pirate....??
The BrigandThe Brigand
The Brigand

The deck at the Brigand which fills up with travelers and locals for dinner but it a bit slower during the day.


26th January 2007

cute flat
Looks like your wordrobe is growing a little bit. Is it room and board? Your description makes the place sound like heaven.........so glad you're loving it. Miss you and love you............E

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb