The Farewell Spit


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Golden Bay
January 13th 2007
Published: January 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This was one of those great days that I have been dreaming about while traveling. A spirited and bright new friend (Jennie, 23 from Ohio) and I spent the day making our way to the Farewell spit (about 50 km from Golden Bay where I am staying). The Farewell spit is the northern most tip of the south island and for some reason, being there made me feel like I was actually on the edge of the earth. Jennie was great and different company and a change of pace from many other more similar minded travelers I have met. We went to a gorgeous beach in hopes of finding seals (as described in my Lonely Planet) but the tide was already coming in so we were left with the beauty of a seculded beach and limestone arches but no seals to be found. There was a little hiking involved (over large rolling dunes) and Jennie put forth a good effort (in spite of her claims of hating to walk uphill) hiking in her underwear which I convinced her looked just like a bathing suit Id owned once.

The best part of the day? It was completely free!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb