Nelson


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
January 6th 2007
Published: January 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

nelsonnelsonnelson

Nelson had gorgeous flowers and great "city" parks as well as a river through town and the ocean about 45 minutes of foot.
When I arrived in Nelson I was feeling a tad blue. After spending two weeks or so surrounded by people and friends at Mt Cook and the New Years drum and bass festival and then a few days recovering at John's family's house on the water (of which I have no pictures because I left my camera in a friends car at the festival and it took a few days to get it back), it felt strange to be alone again. I spent three days in Nelson before coming to the conclusion that I was broke and either had to find work or go home (neither of which sounded grand) and (after choosing the former as being the lesser of two evils....not that home is evil but you know what I mean) taking a bus to Takaka.

While I was in Nelson I did a lot of walking the streets and drinking coffee (or trim chai lattes) in "wee" (kiwi speak for little) cafes and TOO much thinking about what it means to be ALONE. Most people love Nelson for its arty and laid back feel and proximity to the coast. One of the best parts of Nelson for me
nelsonnelsonnelson

Im forgetting the name of this tree at the moment but its all over New Zealand and its red flowers bloom at Christmas so they call it their own Christmas tree.
was the hostel I stayed in, called The Palace. The Palace was an old (for New Zealand) victorian style house converted into a backpackers. There were no bunks (score!), only single beds and a comfortable clutter of decorations, books, and belongings of backpackers past. The Palace prided itself on being an independant and unconventional backpackers and had a "green" room situated in the middle of the tree shaded patio and plastered with posters with slogans like "environMENTALLY friendly" over larger than life pictures of marajuana leaves. There was also free snack (pleasantly reminiscent of my Brny Mawr years) and free breakfast provided by the bakery next door.

The Palace attracted a very cool crowd of travelers and after a night in their friendly company I began to remember that you are only ALONE if you want to be. On my second night in Nelson I went to the movies with a lovely British couple to see the hopelessly trite but exactly what I needed at the time, romantic chick flick, The Holiday, and was quickly feeling back to myself.

I didn't take many pictures because I wasn't doing much exactly, just a lot of wandering and thinking but
nelsonnelsonnelson

I spent one very sunny day walking to and from and sitting on the beach. Luckily they have free sun screen tents!
Nelson is a sweet spot, just happened to be more of a pensive one on my particular journey.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

nelsonnelson
nelson

The beach. Pretty generic sorry.
Hostel LivingHostel Living
Hostel Living

Not a great picture but an example of the sleeping and living conditions in a hostel.


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb