Careful: Ice...


Advertisement
Published: August 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Surrounded...Surrounded...Surrounded...

I am in denial that it is cold and simply enjoying life by the mountains...
The road to Mount Cook stops at Mount Cook and there is only one hostel there. This fabulous one had a sauna which I most certainly made use of!

Ian and I did some walks in the Tasman Valley area and came across a lake which was frozen over. The edges would crack completely if you stood on them but I still had a desire to walk out onto the lake. I being the kind person I am, let Ian go out on it first. It didn't break but I still waited for him to return to the shore before I set out on it, I'm not sure if it would take the weight of both of us! I went out quite far-ish but was too scared to take proper steps, so instead shuffled my feet along the slippery surface. After making it back off the lake without falling in we spent ages breaking off chunks of the ice and throwing them onto the lake. The sound of the ice smashing and then skidding across it was great! It made a cool whistling noise.

I really want to go ice skating now, but maybe not on a lake unless
Sitting very still on a lake...Sitting very still on a lake...Sitting very still on a lake...

Just hoping the ice beneath me would not crack...
it was certain that I wouldn't fall in and be turned into an icewoman...

Advertisement



10th August 2006

time trial
how quick! x
10th August 2006

silly girl !
Now walking on a frozen lake is NOT a good idea, we want you home SAFELY please! not as an ice cube!! Go to Riverside with Colin instead please!!!!! Enjoy God Bless,love you mum xxx
10th August 2006

Kia ora bro, Kei te pehea koe?
Awesome photos. I want to go back down south so badly, especially now you guys are down there.. And these photos make me realise why i loved it so much! Have fun in franz, but remember, DONT do the half day, go for the full day! that first pic is sweet as. my fave nz photo you've got so far. xxxxx
11th August 2006

The challenge to beat Nigel...
Will anyone beat my brother Nigel(onius) at being the first to comment. Ian tried and he was even sitting on a computer next to me when I published the blog, and Nigel still got there first! I think Chloe is the only one to have got there before the notorious N.I.G xxx
11th August 2006

Challenge?
Its never going to happen....
11th August 2006

: )
the notorious N.I.G, thats hilarious, i will try and beat him, but i dunno if i can

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0782s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb