Further south, it's getting icy...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Lake Tekapo
August 3rd 2006
Published: August 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Champion...Champion...Champion...

Aiming for my last putt of the game, even though I already knew I'd won...by far...
I really didn't want to leave Kaikoura, it was such a pretty place but still there were heaps more places that I wanted to travel to. Inland from Kaikoura I went to Hanmer Springs (which Ian has trouble pronouncing..hamananmamer) which seemed like a purpose built village around a thermal water spa park. But there was lots of crazy golf! I hadn't played it in years but it certainly did not show..aahaha, I beat Ian on both games... One part was tricky though as there was a waterfall right on the green, my ball was attracted to the water so I had to take my shot from there trying not to get wet! At one of the mini golf sites there was this maze where you had to go round writing down words to form a sentence. I felt like I was on the aztec section on Crystal Maze, oh how I wish I actually was or that amazing show was still on, with Richard O'Brien of course...

Stopped in Christchurch for one night to break up the journey and visited a little town called Akaroa. I'm going to wait to explore Christchurch when I return at the end of my
Lakes and mountains...Lakes and mountains...Lakes and mountains...

The view from the hostel as evening approaches...
trip as I fly to Canada from there.

Leaving Christchurch I drove my longest distance yet in one day, it totalled to about 4 and a half hours. With breaks though it wasn't bad at all, plus the road is surrounded by the most beautiful scenery. If it was 4 and half hours on a motorway I might complain! Lake Tekapo is where I rested my head, the hostel was so good. Free sweetcorn in the free section of the fridge and the lounge room had a piano, log fire and a massive window looking straight out onto the lake and distant mountains. Why people dismiss hostels I do not know. They are usually in the best locations, are very clean unlike what most people assume and they are a bargain at about 7 pounds a night! You really should try one out sometime. I wonder where they are situated in Essex...



Advertisement



10th August 2006

come home
now xx
10th August 2006

Ah memories!
Mini golf in America with a water feature ....do you remember? Looks chilly there now, which seems weird as we are enjoying lovely weather here! Have fun God Bless love you lots mum xxx
10th August 2006

hey bro, my ear hurts from are 1hour 10minute phone call lol...haha "the south island has easier names, like..hanamermaner springs" that was so funny lol.. Im going to comment on your other one now! xxx
10th August 2006

All you need now Lucy is a 7-iron and you'll have as many clubs as Nigel needs to get round a full size course!! x
11th August 2006

Im back!!
Your technique is poor, how on earth did u win playing golf.......was it against a one armed veggie with a blindfold aswell as shoe laces tied toghether.....whats their name as Alan my have a chance of beating someone too!!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb