Mt Cook and Lake Tepako


Advertisement
Published: February 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Moeraki I travelles to Twizel which is a small town on a lake about an hours drive from Mt Cook. It is a fair sized lake and they were holding rowing trials on it the day I arrived apparently a regatta is due this weekend. Following day I visited Mt Cook and all it's glory, in the information centre they had some photos of people climbing at the beginning of the century it's unbelievable he hat they climber in, in those days. Needless to say the mountain every in the hot summer we are having is still snow capped which makes for some nice photos. The lake as you approach Mt Cook is the most amazing colour of blue I think caused by the minerals in the water. Spent most of the day walking there, it was extremely hot and thirsty work. I walked for about two hours and over two swing bridges which I hate. Never the less most rewarding and enjoying. the following day I drove to Lake Tekapo and walked to the top of Mt John, again it was a daily hot day but well worth it for the views from the top. Returned exhausted to eat some fresh trout which was given to me by the people in the cabin next to my tent.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb