Queenstown (to milford)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Milford Sound
October 24th 2006
Published: November 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Queenstown to Milford


The hight of the bungyThe hight of the bungyThe hight of the bungy

from that little pod to the river below
Tuesday
Up early for a 134metre bungee jump. It was a 45min drive there made longer by the road being closed for 20 mins of each half hour so they could do something to do with avalanche risks. I was 10th to jump and got to watch all the boys first including the 2 Scottish boys. The jump was over really quickly and I couldn’t release my legs so didn’t get to enjoy the view.
At lunch time I enjoyed the good exchange rate and the sales in a surf shop and got a skirt, top and Oakley fleece; really useful now but I’m not sure how to pack it or if it will be much use once I leave New Zealand!
In the afternoon Efrat and I did the swing which has a 60metre freefall and then you swing out over the canyon. After the bungee this was less scary but they make it scary by doing silly things. I got tied to a chair and tipped backwards over the edge until one of them let go. This wasn’t enough so I jumped again and did 5 forward summersaults before reaching the bottom. I really enjoyed that.
Then at 4.30
The scottish boys at the bungyThe scottish boys at the bungyThe scottish boys at the bungy

and yes they were doing the bungy the authentic scottish way!! Not a pleasant sight!
we did the 300km drive down to Milford sound.


For bungy photos go to http://www.rapidimage.net/media/searchAlbum.php?album_code=AJHN and type ref no AJHN610244277556


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

After I had got off the scales at the swing.After I had got off the scales at the swing.
After I had got off the scales at the swing.

This had something to do with how much I weigh but I don't know what. I can't weigh much as a squashed possum can't wiegh that much!


7th November 2006

Bungee jumps
I see all the other readers are too flabbergasted to make comments. If you release your legs - dont you plummet ? Do you touch the water when you reach the bottom ? Can we hire a bungee jump to put in the field for your welcome home party. Or perhaps if we attach lots of rubber bands to a high tree branch.......?

Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb