Montana Winery


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Marlborough » Blenheim
April 6th 2006
Published: April 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Oak BarrelsOak BarrelsOak Barrels

Just a small sampling of the nice oak barrels imported from France.
I worked half the day today. Sadly harvest is coming to an end. I will probably only be working a couple more days, but only if the rain holds off. It's sad to see the grapes rotting and shrivelling. I have a new passion for fruit. So what? Apples are ruined, I'm so glad grapes are not! I managed to cut myself today while harvesting. I mean, it's not a big deal, but there was a lot of blood. So much they pulled me off harvesting and made me sit down while I had my hand cleaned and bandaged. I guess some people have previously fainted. Anyways, if anyone wants to check out the winery I'm picking for their website is:
www.villamarie.co.nz.

Since I had the afternoon off, Corin and I figured we would go out and do some free wine tasting. We drove out to Montana, which is very very nice. They are the first in NZ to plant vines in the area back in the 1970's. For $10 we got a nice hour tour of the winery and a nice tasting session.

I'm very excited to be on the South Island. I can't wait to see the
The SpybaseThe SpybaseThe Spybase

Another picture of my office, but if you can make out two while balls amongst the vines, that is in fact a US spy base.
Southern Alps, Glaciers, Sounds, and hopefully do the highest bungy jump in Queenstown called the Nevus Highwire. It is starting to get cold so I don't know how long I will stay in the South. Depends on if I can pick up a job easily. We will see! I've always been lucky. Tara rolls into town and starts work the next day.

The picture I posted is TRUE! There is actually a spy base for the Americans amongst all the rows of vines. I don't know what specifically they are monitoring, but there is heavy security there. Seems people don't like that idea so they have protests a couple times a year. Obviously not happy with the American presence in the area. ( I wouldn't be either). But I heard that they are planning on shutting this specific facility down. I was joking that I was going to run at the base with my flimsy snippers, arms raised in a murderous rage. Ha ha ha. Then me picking parter (Dutchie called Leo) got to talking about how we burned the White House down. Seems Kiwi's like that type of Canadian behaviour because I had my hand shook by one of them.

Have a good night everyone!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb