My time in Blenheim comes to a close


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Marlborough » Blenheim
April 2nd 2006
Published: April 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

A Marlborough SunsetA Marlborough SunsetA Marlborough Sunset

I find the sunsets here are really beautiful.
I wanted to just do a little update since nothing much has been happening, except for the grape harvest. It seems that I have one more week of work here, and then the grape harvest is officially over. My boss is then going to throw an end of harvest party which includes a hangi (meal cooked in the ground). I'm looking forward to that, but I will miss the nice people Í've met here in Blenheim. My harvest partner Corin is a fellow Canadian, and attended Guelph University for BioChemistry. I haven't had any bouts of homesickness because it seems we talk about the things we experienced when we were young. I tend to burst into song especially when discussing TV shows. Like, The Polka Dot Door, Fables of the Green Forest, The Racoons ect ect ect.....For the past 2 days we've been wracking our minds for the Hometown of Avril Laveign. It's horrible when something is on the tip of your tongue, but yet beyond your reach.
I have also FINALLY found a hobbit here in N.Z. His name is Josh, he's short, has big ears, a mop of hair, and talks with a nice British accent (don't know if
The VineyardThe VineyardThe Vineyard

Sometimes as far as the eye can see.
he has hairy feet though). And Evert, who is from South Africa and a little naive when it comes to living in New Zealand. I hang out with these guys. It's neat to have such a diverse group of people.

As it goes with grape harvesting you and your partner discuss many things. It seems Josh and Evert have very serious discussions about religion (one thing you don't usually discuss). It gets quite heated because Josh is an atheist, and Evert was raised very stricted Christian. It's interesting to be party to one of these debates, but of course only be a bystander. Josh tends to get the best of Evert and Evert walks away very angry at times.

I really must stay that picking grapes has been a great job for me here. Except for a couple of cuts on my fingers due to my partner accidentally cutting me, it's been great. Sure we get yelled at, but it's in a joking way. Something along the lines of "Hurry up you maggots" makes me crack up laughing. Today I got renamed by Steve, one (a 350 lb Maori) of the brothers who supervises our picking. So from
My OfficeMy OfficeMy Office

Now you see why I can't complain much about picking grapes.
today forth, I am now to be addessed as Trixie La Yank. Trixie, well, I have no clue why the Trixie part, but the La because I'm supposedly French Canadian, and the Yank, well, because he was calling me American. So confusing, but entertaining at least.

I'm getting a craving for a warm tropical place now since Fall is setting in. I keep thinking, in Canada it's starting to warm up. A couple of us were drooling over Fiji brochures a couple of nights ago. As I walk through the vineyards I hear the leaves crackling under my feet. It's just not the same though, there aren't many trees here, so it's hard to feel like it's really Fall. I've found out who I actually pick the grapes for here in NZ. The brand of wine is called Villa Maria, and we actually pick Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris, Savignon Blanc and Chardonnay. I have to say picking the green ones is hard at times due to being in camoflague.

Here are some pictures! I'm going to head south after next week is done, and possible do some whale watching!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Corin and Evert Corin and Evert
Corin and Evert

My grape picking buddies relaxing in the vineyard at lunch.
JoshJosh
Josh

Here's the hobbit!
My Boss TonyMy Boss Tony
My Boss Tony

Well, lets just say that Tony is a bit of a Rugby freak. He supports the Crusaders (Canterbury), and his brothers support the Hurricanes (Wellington). Seems the Crusaders won and Tony is rubbing it in.


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb