Day 177 New Zealand, Christchurch to Blenheim Via Kiakoura.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
May 14th 2015
Published: May 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hello People,



We arrived in Kaikoura, we wanted to do a whale site seeing tour and a Maori Culture experience but they were about £70 each per person so we decided against it in this place. The whales would have been good but we have seen them out at sea from the ship; and we can always do the Maori culture up north, which will hopefully be cheaper. We walked around the town and had fish and chips for lunch. About 1pm we drove up the coast to Ohua peninsular to see so many seals laid out all up the coast for miles, the pictures are good. We headed on further north until we reached Blenheim at about 1430, we parked up in Countdown supermarket and went over to library to get Wi-Fi and charge the laptop. At about 4pm I was getting worried we would not get a parking slot at this free first-come first-served camper site at Taylor Dam. So we arrived before 5pm, I needn’t have worried, as it didn’t get full.



It was raining when we arrived but still quite warm, each night I lie on my sleeping bag and then have the duvet and blanket on top. Its really comfy but I’m always a bit cold in the morning.



We had another cheap but delicious tea made my Neil, we’ve fallen into the pattern of me driving and then he cooks every night. This suits me, as I love getting to a place and then reading up on it from the lonely planet book or the leaflets we’ve collected. I think we had spaghetti bolognese with a few rum and cokes.



Good night





V&N x


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb