Kaihkura and Havelock. Time with Janice.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
April 30th 2010
Published: November 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I had a great time with Janice. We stayed in a nice hostel in Havelock. A beautiful area. Last night I ate a pot of the local, bright-green shell Mussels for dinner and each of us drank about 8 beers. We spent most of yesterday driving down to ‘Kaihkura’ to see the whales. Janice had already booked tickets (she’s good like that) so I just bummed along on her already scheduled trip and purchased tickets/booked rooms where she did. We had a great time! The weather was beautiful and I really appreciated having some company for a few days. Today we part ways. She headed North and I’m continuing my trek South. The rain has been pretty consistent today. I really like all of these little towns along the way. There are always people (quite sociable) standing around having a beer or a bite to eat. I can’t decide if I’m going to stay in Westport, Greymouth, or drive all the way to Christchurch. I’ll play it by ear.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb