Wanganui down to Wellington for the Interisland Ferry.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wanganui » Wanganui
April 28th 2010
Published: November 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wangnui (they don’t pronounce the 'g'😉 was great. I had a traditional English breakfast in the pub downstairs. I also went back to the coffee shop/ restaurant I had dinner at last night. The beautiful girl I saw passing through was working as a waitress/barista. I had the feeling I could have stayed in that little town for a while. The people were exceptionally nice. Also, I had internet for the first time in a day. No real email, but I did get a chance to chat with my friend...

After yesterday's drive, I was anxious to get to Wellington. Oh! I got a speeding ticket! It was kind of exciting actually. The guy cut me a break and only marked me for 18kph over instead of the 38kph over that I was actually driving. What can I say, I have a lead foot.

I made it to Wellington and found the ferry. I only got lost once. Everyone kept telling me to follow the signs to the ferry. What signs? I drove straight through the city and ended up in 'Seatown.' Luckily a lady at the magazine store gave me directions and a map. No worries! Also, I had fried mussels and fries (chips) "take away" (which means 'to go'😉. As I sit here waiting for the ferry, I'm kind of glad I did eat. There's not a whole lot here at the 'interislander' port.

So, the ferry was nice. I made a new friend. I noticed someone taking a picture of themselves and I recognized a solo-traveler. Her name is Janice and she is from Liverpool, England.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb