Kaikoura


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
May 30th 2006
Published: May 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today we drove to Kaikoura which is on the east coast, facing the pacific ocean. We hiked out on a peninsula and saw a couple of seals sunbathing on rocks (even though it was cloudy and cold) and they didn't seem at all amused by us humans. They are cute in a lazy, roly poly sort of way but the signs warn to stay 10meters away, and when one of the stubborn americans tried to get closer, he got growled at and all of those jagged pointy teeth kinda but a damper on the cute factor.
The waves were crashing against the rocks like crazy and bringing in long thick strands of seaweed that felt like rubber and was fun to play with (see picture 3). There were shells in perfect condition tucked all around the rocks with swirly colored insides (maybe a type of paua shell that NZ is known for?) and little bunches of coral growing in the puddles between rocks.
Leaving the peninsula turned out to be quite a project...we hiked up this super steep grassy hill and people kept sliding and freaking out. Then we had to jump a few electric fences that were turned on but then they went off so we all hoped they weren't on time intervals or something. It helps that our Dept of Conservation guide is absolutely nuts....I think we lucked out with him because we always end up on these unplanned side adventures that make things more interesting.
We are staying at a backpackers lodge where the rooms are all named after birds indigenous to New Zealand. I'm a Moa. I'm in the lounge area and a reallly bad nz soap opera is on and there are all kinds of conversations going on. German on the couch, spanish on the pay phone, its great! Tomorrow we are supposed to wake up at five to swim with the dolphins. Kaikoura is also known for its whale sightings and god if I see one I think I'll die on the spot. A whale! I can't wait. I should be able to post pics tomorrow so we'll see......


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



30th May 2006

officially jealous
Okay, don't really know how these blog comments work, but I put my first one in a few minutes ago, wa-a-a-ay before I read on about your continuing adventures, and now I'm so in awe and a little jealous, and fully realizing just how much you're doing in such a small, short time - and my gosh!! Climbing on ice?! Tormenting seals (well not you..), and swimming with dolphins?????? I have to rest now. Your life is wearing me out!! Regards again, Dee PS: Hurry up and write some more!!!
2nd June 2006

Where are MY comments?
Waaaa- my friend, Dee's comments get onto your blog but mine don't? Was it the drain thing and I didn't even say anything about all the Playgirl magazines under your bed or NUTHIN!.....bummmed and censored in the U. S. of A.......Nanous- Well.....at least I still get to read you and everybody else.......

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 22; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb