Mount Cook


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Glaciers
February 15th 2004
Published: June 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Aoraki (mount Cook)Aoraki (mount Cook)Aoraki (mount Cook)

Hope to climb it one day....then I have a reason to go back to this lovely country with its great people!
Who doesn't want to be in New Zealand in its beautiful summer???
I planned my trip to Australia, New Zealand and South-East Azia that I would be in the summer in the Land with so many beautiful faces.
What happened?? It rained and it rained and it kept on raining, butt it was still an awesome trip even when you're camping like I did.

I started in Auckland bought a car for about 500 Dollar (we'll see how far it takes me, cheaper than a bus ticket and most importand it gives a lot of freedom). I travelled about a month on the north island and a month on the south. I dit some great hikes, like the Tongariro circuit, climbed the summit of Mount Taranaki, walked (ofcourse) Abel Tasman and did the amazing Routburn track. I also tried Sandboarding on some sanddunes, Jumped out of a plane in Taupo, rolled down a mountain in a plastic bal (called zorbing), went tubing in a Cave and even Rafted a seven meter waterfall....But the best activities where for free.....

Like most travellers know, there comes a point that your mony runs out, so I had to find cheaper stuff to do. One of the best was walking through some cave systems and explore them with your own headlight (ofcourse not Alone)
But my best experience was In the Caitlins.....I drove to a bay where I saw some dolphins swimming...I put on my wetsuit (too bad it was a shorty) and my diving mask. After a couple minutes there where about 10 dolphins swimming around me. So great..I can't put it in words.....

As expected my car broke down 10 days before I was about to leave the country so I found out that Hitch-hiking is the most easiest thing in the coutry of the friendly Kiwi's

Is it my favourite country...well at least it is one of them...Go see it for yourself as soon as you can!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

hitching a ridehitching a ride
hitching a ride

last days when my car finally gave up, had to hitch, but NZ was the best country for it
playing guitar, at one of our free camp spotsplaying guitar, at one of our free camp spots
playing guitar, at one of our free camp spots

traveling with Roee (Israel) and Ilka (Germany)


Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb