Top of the Borneo Jungle


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
March 2nd 2004
Published: June 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sunrise from Mount KinabaluSunrise from Mount KinabaluSunrise from Mount Kinabalu

The Jungle in Borneo is great but standing on the top of it even better
Culture shock...Borneo is a bit different than Australia and New Zealand.
People staring at you, because I'm white and blond...Get jammed in a Minivan with 15 malaysians....who ofcourse can't speak a word English. But smiling always works I found out.

I arrived at Kota Kinabalu, where I played a nice soccergame with some locals. Then I took a bus to Mount Kinabalu nat. Park, where I met Andrew a very fit Canadian guy. Together we hired a guide and started our two day climb. The top of the jungle was cold but rewarding.

Then I went to Uncla Tan's, A jungle camp where I stayed for a couple days. We spotted a lot of wildlife there and in between we just had a great time living a primitive life. (you don't need that much to be happy)

I hadn't heard of sipadan before I came to Borneo but now I know why people say it is one of the best dive sites in the world!! Thousands of giant turtles, reefsharks and of course not forget Nemo, the clown fish.

Sarawak has Gunung Mulu national park, and if you like caving it's the place to be. I did a wonderfull trip, hiking to the pinnacles, boating through the jungle where you see the jungle tribes live in their small villages and of course spending some time under the earth......

After I saw Kuala Lumpur and the rest of Malasia I new that I made the right choice of not using my first planned return ticket to Mainland Malaysia.
What a wonderful place is Borneo.........


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb