New Zealand - Franz Josef Glacier Walk.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
March 12th 2010
Published: March 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So we arrived in Franz Josef last night. Today I'm doing the ever famous glacier walk. God knows why considering I DESPISED the mountain climb last time! So getting out of bed was pure hassle, and cold, and I was so NOT in the mood for this whatsoever. To be honest I was seriously close to not booking it but everyone told me it's meant to be incredible and I'd regret it and yada yada yada so whatever. So I was kinda worried I wasn't gonna be warm enough, I was gonna be walking on ice and I didn't even have a proper hoodie! The only one I had I left back with Zoe in Aus because it was too heavy and everyone was telling me you need a good few layers on out there. So I wore a strap top, tee shirt, cardigan and my sweater and hoped for the best! We all walked down the road to the place and they had some awesome hoodies on sale there. So I was seriously tempted to buy one, like super tempted.. but they were $85!

So firstly we collected our trousers, they stunk.. then we went and got our boot size and cramps fitted (cramps attach to the bottom of the boots to walk in the ice), and then our jackets which absolutely stunk of B.O and some hats and gloves. Once kitted out in these godawful unflattering outfits we headed on our way to the ice. So me and Louise have already decided after last time of absolutely dying at the back that we would go with the slacker group on the ice. Basically it divides into 6 groups in terms of fitness or how fast a pace you want to go. We had a quick 10 min walk through a rainforest and then we reached a big open space and ahead of us was the start of the glacier. It looked so close but damn it was deceiving, it was a good hour walk away until on the ice. So we were all split up into groups of 6.. we went in group 6! had a hot guide though, fo'sho'. So there was 11 of us in the group and the majority of us were all English! Walking across the wide open space which apparently is where the glacier originally started years ago! (it moves 5 meters every day), it took absolutely forever walking to the start of it.. I was tired and already began regretting this. Before getting onto the ice there's this seriously little steep mountain you have to climb up first, it looked pure torture! However I noticed the difference walking with proper walking boots and cramps compared to when I had my shitty little trainers on. It wasn't as hard as I thought, it was still pretty tiring but fortunately the guide said this was the hardest part of the entire journey which was a comforting thought. It was insanely steep, one foot wrong and I was a gonner! However I made it and once at the top it had a wicked view of the entire glacier.. just another 20 mins of walking on rock until we actually reached the ice! I was starting to get sweaty and had to strip off completely. Eventually after walking and walking we finally reached the ice.. it was fab!!! It was a lot easier to walk on with the cramps than I thought it would be. Omg the entire thing was so surreal.. I was in the middle of a glacier! So the guide took us on all sorts of different cool routes, we went through micro spaces and tunnels and all sorts, it was so cooooool! At one point we found this cute little cave and got some pretty great snapshots. So I was totally wrong about being too cold, it was great weather and I wasn't cold in the slightest. I was thoroughly enjoying this, SO much more than the other mountain climb! It was nice for us to go at a slow steady pace rather than constantly feeling pressured to keep up with the others. Eating lunch on the ice was even weirder, I was eating on a damn huge ice rock, how wicked is that! We saw Derek doing his ice climbing in the distance which was pretty cool too. So along the way we could see all the other little groups ahead, group 1 was wayyyyyyy ahead up higher but I wasn't bothered in the slightest.

After going up and up and up we reached our highest point and had a fab view of the glacier, it was absolutely beautiful. I had no regrets doing this today! So we were on the ice for 6 hours but it went way faster. After reaching our highest point we starting heading down. This was the weirdest part.. we just walked straight over the top and it took 20 mins to get from top to bottom! We had climbed under it on the way up and it makes such a difference to the time! I had no idea how quick it was to get down. We then reached the killer steep mountain at the start again, but I was so tired and my legs were so drained that I couldn't even be bothered being worried, I just wanted to get to the bottom. It was kinda scary but I made it! High fives all round I can now say I have climbed a glacier! The best part about it was my reward coming later.. we had discount to the glacier hot pools by our hostel so we were going straight to them as soon as we got back.. which is exactly what we did! The minute we arrived I stripped off got in my bikini and headed straight to the pools. They were absolutely HEAVENLY. They had 3 different temperatures, we got straight in the hottest and completely switched off. It soothed alllll my muscles I worked today and I was just in pure bliss. We ended up staying in there for a good hour and half, maybe more. After chilling in the pools we decided it was time to get ready for some hardcore drinking. Quick change and slap a bit of make up on and we were good to go! Decided to treat ourselves to a meal as we worked so hard today and got a discounted fantastic pizza from the bar by our hostel and washed it down with some soco and lemonade! There was some competition going on and a few of our group joined in, I was too tired! Basically they had to get into pairs and each team had to put on a lifejacket, helmet and run weave in and out of some chairs holding a paddle between their legs, drink a shot and then the other person goes after.. whoever does it in the quickest time wins! None of our team won, they got shamed by a pair of guys who did it wayyyyy faster than everyone else, impressive stuff! So after getting slightly trashed tiredness hit me and I got into bed for some quality facebook time.. Dave had emailed me again yayyy! And he said he was thinking about me which made me all happy, especially as I was drunk and merry. So just as I'm lying in bed Chief and Codiac come rushing in and bounce on my bed and wrap themselves around me.. they claimed it was 'snuggle time'. So they were on each side of me, one on each boob.. glad it was comfortable for them as I do have pretty bounciful comfy boobs tbh! Eventually after a good cuddle sesh it was time to sleep.. night guyssssssssss xxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb