New Zealand - Youfly, Bungy, Queenstown.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
March 16th 2010
Published: March 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So because I'm tired and pre-occupied talking to Dave on fb chat (he now has the internet!!! :D), I don't really have the energy to say exactly what I've done the past few days.. but the general gist of it is basically I flew my own plane in Wonoka, which was aaaaaaaaamazing! Then went to Queenstown, finally ate a fergburger, did a tandem bungy jump with Stefi the next day.. drank some teapots in World Bar, said bye to the rest of the Cougar crew which was lame and now I'm on my way back up north and I'm in Geraldine to do some white water rafting tomorrow.

That is all, maybe I will go more into detail with this when I'm not as busy.

Peace x

Okay so I'll go into more detail now, I'm a bit drunk though so it might be a bit oo-er. So what happened was I was on the Stray bus heading towards Queenstown and Cougar is like we're going through a town called Wanaka and it's awesome to fly your own plane here, and I've always wanted to fly my own plane.. ALWAYS! So I thought what better time than now? So I signed up for it, without even thinking about it. And then after I'm like wtf am I doing, this is more money down the drain.. but then I compared the price to an English price and it really wasn't that bad and tbh when am I ever gonna get the opportunity again to fly my own plane? So we arrive in Wanaka and I'm like holy shit this is it. So Cougar said she had done it here and it's really nice and the lady who runs it is super cool.. she was! She's called Ruth and an absolute sweetheart. There was 2 of us doing it so I let him go first. I went to the local cafe and bought some chips which were absolutely vile! So he paid for a longer flight so I'm waiting a bit, so I decide to ring Zoebird and find out what she's upto, she's loving Melbourne! Omg I can't wait to get back to Australia you guys, honestly I've missed it so mucvh!! I have so many memories there that can never be replaced. I wanna live in Sydney permanently, hoenstly. I've decided! Sydney is my perfect home. So eventually half hour later they arrive back and it's my turn! I jump in this cute adorable little plane and she tells me all the controls and what exactly I'd be doing. Luckily I'm not doing take-off or landing which would be horrific! All I'm doing is steering the plane once up in the air. It's super exciting stuff! So we begin.. she takes off.. and then it's all on me! MOTHERLORD I'M FLYING MY OWN PLANE! It was so weird!! It was like a computer game but real life, wtf!! Wanaka is absolutely stunning too, there's a gorgeous lake there. A few times during the flight she took control and I took some pictures, it was really cool. Ugh sorry but I'm super impatient right now because Dave is meant to meet me online on fb chat but he isn't here and I'm all blah and want to talk to him 😞. So back to the story.. so yeah I flew my own plane! It was so bizzarre but really fricking cool.

So once done we get a certificate and DVD and stuff which is pretty cool. Cougar comes to collect us and then we're on our way to Queenstown! It's kinda weird coz this is my last journey with the Cougar bus and then I'm off back up north! Along the way to the centre of Queenstown we stopped by a bungy bridge. This is the original oldest bungy bridge in Queenstown where it all began! The place begins with a K, but I can't remember exactly so I'll tell you what it's called another time. So I did plan on doing a bungy but then I checked my funds the day before and was like actually shit I'm completely skint and can't afford ANYTHING, but then I was there and watching it and it looked so awesome and was like fuck I really wanna bungy! So Liam booked in for it straight away and was gonna do it in 15 mins. Then me and Steffi suddenly thought.. shit.. we wanna bungy too! So we went to sign up for doing it and then suddenly they were like actually it's full today which is seriously poo.. and we thought well it's either now or never because there's no way we will still have the mentality to do it tomorrow.. but apparently we did! We thought fuckit and signed up to do it tomorrow afternoon which still gives us valuable drinking time in Queensotnw tonight, plus means we can have a wee bit of a lie in. So we paid.. no turning back! I'm bungying tomorrow! HOLY COW! We watched Liam, he was wicked! He wasn't even nervous just full on went for it, pretty cool. So he said it was amazing which gave us slight encouragement and as terrifying as it looked, there is no way I can come to New Zealand and not do bungy.. it's where it all started!

We're going out tonight, so should be pretty interesting hurling myself off a bridge with a hangover.. So time to leave the bridge and get our first view of Queenstown. Heard good things about this place! It's where most people stay the longest, however seeing as I'm on minimal time I'm only able to stay for 2 days which is a bit crap. So we arrived.. its not what I thought it was at all! I thought it was a city but it's actually a beautiful town. The scenery surrounding it is gorgeous.. some of the most incredible mountains I've ever seen! We are staying at Nomads hostel which was actually really bloody nice. We all decided seeing as it's the final time we're all going to be together that we should get a big room for us all. So the 7 of us checked in! So we were given this list of all activities to do in Qtown and on it was horseriding. I had wanted to do horseriding for soooooo long! Unfortunately it's a half day tour and I only have tomorrow to do it, and right bang in the middle is my bungy jump so there's no way I can. I desperately want to stay here longer! It's annoying because I'm staying in Christchurch 2 days and apparently theres nothing to do there, but I can't change my bus route to make it 2 days in Queenstown instead of ChCh because there's no bus leaving the day I need it! Really irritating tbh. So anyway a few of us sign up for different activities, Louise is doing the horseriding tomorrow, jealousssssss 😞. So then we all come back chill in the room and begin our drinking! I was pretty excited to go out because we were going to World bar and I had been to that one in Sydney, they have the legendary teapots! However I was having a super dilemna with my clothes.. you'd think I would be able to find an outfit to wear seeing as I have SO many, but no.. I kept changing and couldn't make my mind up and was seriously winding myself up! Eventually I chose a mediocre dress.. still not satisfied with it to this day! After a few sessions on the goonage we all head out. I stop at a cash point on the way right, and no joke I thought my card got swallowed. The screen froze for about a minute! I have never paniced so much in my life. However it eventually came out.. thank god! I'd be so screwed without that thing! After seeing how buggered Zoe and Marc were without theirs.. and I was in another country alone without anyone to back me up. We arrive at World Bar.. discount off teapots with Nomads roomkey, nice! So I'm nicely merry, it's okay in there but I was a tad bored, wasn't having an overwhelming great night.. so I ring my mummy because it's mothers day and wanted to check she received her present which I'd ordered. It was nice talking to her.. but found out she reads these blogs, oooerrr! Hi mummyyyyyyy. Hope I haven't scarred her too much for life. So Alaska can't get back in, she hasn't got her I.D with her.. and tbh me and Louise were ready to go. So we leave.. but not before stopping by for a legendary ferg burger we had heard so much about! Good god, they looked amazing! Biggest burgers I have ever seen. We decided to save eating them for when we got back to the room.

THEY WERE OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! I nearly died with pleasure they were that good!! I had some amazing chicken thingy.. gosh!!! I never wanted it to end. So then Scott strolls in wasted and passes out, and eventually so do the others! Stefi and Derek were the last to arrive, ey ey ey! Good times, bungy tomorrw.. yeaoooowwww!

Lie innnnnnnn! Kind of! Wasn't bungying until the afternoon so it was nice to relax in bed for a bit in the morning. I wasn't too scared about the bungy tbh, I say that now but it's gonna be a whole lot different once I'm stood on the edge! I wasn't scared at all of Skydive because you're so high and they push you out, so you can't see the ground coming towards you.. with bungy YOU have to jump off! Eventually we're all ready to go and make our way to the pick up station. So the silly bus was late anyway, ended up pickin us up 45 mins later! Which gave plenty of time to the nerves kick in, and then I saw the bridge.. and then they kicked in even more! I'm kinda glad I'm doing it in tandem with Steffi, don't think I could do it alone. The minute we arrived the woman was like 'RIGHT WE'RE RUNNING LATE SO PUT YOUR HARNESSES ON AND YOURE GONNA JUMP ASAP'.. eeeeeeerrrr! Rushed or what!! We literally were put up on the bridge straight away and within about 15 mins it was our time to jump!! harnesses were strapped and now I was starting to panic. It was a lot higher than I remembered from yesterday.. so soon enough they tied everything around us and I was stood on the edge of the bridge. Oh.mY.GoD.! so we originally arranged to count 3,2,1 jump.. but then the guy confused me coz he started counting himself so I was like wtf is going on, so as soon as he got to 1, I was like oh so are we jumping now then? So we kind of jump, and kind of drop. I wish I'd put more vavavoom into the jump because it would have been more kick ass, but either way.. I WAS DROPPING OFF A BRIDGE! I've never had as much an adrenalin rush ever in my life than the point I was falling down towards the water. It was bloody brilliant! The freefall was only about 2 seconds long but it was INSANE! Me and Stefi high fived at the bottom. Unfortunately we didn't dunk in the water because there wasnt enough power in the jump which is crap. So we were lowered into this boat with 2 beautiful guys in it who helped unstrap our harnesses. Then we make our way back up to the top. Stefi decides she wants to jump again alone so she can go in the water! There was a special deal to jump again for $60 which is not bad at all! Wasn't long before she was ready to go again, this time she goes backwards! CHRISTTTT! She leans back on the platform and then they just drop her, good god it looked terrifying but awesome at the same time. So once our bungy was finally over and done with we were good to go back! I got some photos and a tee shirt, not the dvd though. Feeling very accomplished and hungry we all head straight for another fergburger. Yet again it was deeeeeeeeelish! I ate it so fast I bit my lip, Derek found muchos amusement in this. Just a random note but while I'm writing this I can see into the top of a building and there's a dance class going on, it's so lovely to watch 😊 takes me back to my dancing days! AAAAANyway... back to the hostel for some chill time before we go meet Cougar for a goodbye dinner thingy. It was a bit silly of me to eat a fergburger because once we got to winnies pizza I was so full I couldn't eat anything except some chicken wings! How ridiculous. It was nice being with everyone for one last time, but depressing at the same time. Tomorrow I leave them all.. noooooo! Some head to the deep south, others staying in Queenstown and I'm the only one heading back up north, fricking annoying.

So our meal finished and we all went back to the room. By this point I was so tired and not in the mood for anything so me and Louise decided to stay in. The others wanted to go out though.. predictably! It was kind of annoying because it was our last night and we were being split up. But then the drinking in the room began and it actually turned out to be quite a funny night.. truth or dare started! It was hilaaaaaaaarious, and it meant we did spend the majority of the night together at least. Louise ended up stroking the back of some randomers head, Liam ran through the halls with Louises' hasslehoff knickers on! It was so bloody funny omg. So my dare was I had to go upto the most minging guy in the kitchen and say something extremely unappropriate! I won't say what because chances are mummy dearest is reading this. However when it came down to it I just couldn't do it! So Liam caught me out instead and said fine you have to do a forfeit.. 'you have to come out with us'.. BUSTED! So yeah I ended up getting changed and going out with them, Louise stayed in though. However.. as I arrive at world bar with them, a load of drunken idiots from our hostel arrive from a blind bar crawl and I can hear SHIT music playing inside.. and all I can think of is beddddd. So as soon as I walked in I said goodbye and left again. They were like whaaaat? But I just really wasn't in the mood to go out! On the way back I bought me and Louise some fergburger chips as we were craving them earlier, and we had a nice feast. I was full after like 5 of them though! So this is why I'm super duper happy I ended up coming back and not staying out.. I decide to pop online and as I log into facebook someone pops up on chat with a cheeky wink.. daaaaaaave! Like I said he's finally installed the internet there! It was such a lovely surprise. We've been chatting every night religiously since, it makes my day I tell you! I know you'd think 'she's in New Zealand and a guy is making her day?' .. whateverrrrrr! He's being all sweet and lovely and actually honest about things too. I think it's on! So I was definitely a very happy chappy that night, until I was interrupted by Alaska and Steffi jumping on my bed for snuggle time! I was like erm guys.. bittttttt busy right now! They were trollied. So I spoke to him most the night and then went to sleep smiling, but also upset because talking to him is such a tease, so close but so far 😞....

Peace x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb