New Zealand - Barrytown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
March 10th 2010
Published: March 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wasn’t woken too badly by the rooster this morning, thank god. It did yelp a few times but not enough for me to swear at it. Time to pack up and leave Abel Tasman and our awesome tent! We were all ready and waiting for the bus pretty early as we want to secure our front seats. We’re kind of lame actually, so damn possessive of our front seats. In fact it’s seriously childish and clique-esque and I hate that kind of behaviour, but they’re OUR seats dammit.. We’ve had them since the start of the trip! So the bus arrives and we’re on like a flash.. They’re safe, sorted! Got another loooooooong journey ahead so I need to be sitting in comfort. Stupidly packed my headphones in my big rucksack under the bus so I couldn’t listen to my ipod which was pretty lame. So Cougar noticed the obvious gap between both groups on the bus and decided to kickstart an ice breaker game. It was actually really effective and we’re definitely all more comfortable with each other now. Basically we were given some paint markers and we all got into groups with people we didn’t really know and had to draw on the window our name, where we’re from and a picture of something about ourselves. So I drew a picture of a big nose and a small nose.. Which is basically telling them I had a nose job! They guessed it which was pretty cool. It was a fun game and made a nice change of us all falling asleep on the bus.

So along the way we stopped at a couple of places. One stop we saw some wild seals on some rocks, they were so cute. Also whilst waiting to get back on the bus I was sat on the back of this huge truck right, and then the guy opens the door and it’s completely PACKED with sweets. I mean head to do with massive packets of sweets. So I asked how much a huge bag of lollies was and he said $15, so we all chipped in a dollar each and bought this awesome pack of over 200 sherbet lollies for our bus, how mint is that!! 10 points for Susie, y’feel me! Our next stop was a famous NZ landmark which has pancake rocks. So when I first heard this I was expecting some huge flat pancaked shaped rocks etc, but they’re really just coastal rocks with ridges in them. Still pretty cool though and it was a nice walk. Eventually we reached Barrytown. This place is tiiiiiiiiny! We’re staying in a pub which is owned by a couple who were originally stray and kiwi experience drivers who fell in love, how cute is that. We all checked in and got our lodges and then I went on the internet for a bit. First thing I see on face book is an email message from Dave. No joke my stomach flipped! I am such a geek. He said he managed to get an internet connection for the first time since he got there and he was expecting to have a message from me so was disappointed when he logged on and there wasn’t one. I felt bad! But I honestly didn’t know if he did want me to email him or not, so I just explained that I was planning on sending him a message when I got back to Oz (which I was). But yeah I’m super glad he contacted me, I hated that I didn’t know if I was gonna speak to him again L. But at least I know he’s kind of thinking of me! So after feeling pretty damn good about the message from him, I had some dinner. Burger and chips, yum! And then I had to get started on making my costume. Our bus decided the theme was ‘anything but clothes’ so basically along the journey we stopped at this shop that had all random shit in it. I bought a Hannah Montana table cloth and also find some weird binbag type raincoat that someone had left crumped somewhere. So I basically chopped them both up, stuck them together and managed to make some pretty damn great punky style outfit that went great with my studded boots and chain belt. I also had my black mac lipstick so I am very impressed I managed to get this otufit together at last minute. Everyone elses costumes were fucking great too. There was one guy who went as an orange, hilarious!

So eventually we’re all in the pub drinking. People start getting pissed.. And then the $5 jaeger bombs happened! Wow. After that everyone was definitely slaughtered. Dancing on the tables occurred. That reminds me.. Some random local girl who apparently is a stripper decided to out of nowhere stand on the table and then get half naked, literally. Wtf is the reason for that?! It literally came out of nowhere. One girl even asked her why and she was like ‘why not? It makes things more fun’.. er things were already fun darling, we didn’t even know the girl. Cougar said she’s done it before apparently, fucking mental. Anyway so once we were all pissed we also got up on the tables and danced our asses off to some brill tunes blasting out the juke box. Scott makes a play for Steffi again but she’s having none of it. It’s so funny he’s so much more into her than she is into him. In fact I don’t really think she’s interested AT ALL, whereas he is constantly staring at her and when he was drunk he was harassing her constantly. So now all these different incestuous relationships are occurring with loads of others in the group and I’m not sure what the outcome is gonna be. It was bound to happen when you’re travelling with the same group of people for so long. I’m glad I have no interest in any of them! So after a fun night of jaeger bombs and dancing I was definitely ready to pass out.. Which is exactly what I did!

Franz Josef tomorrow, wooohoooo!

Niiiiiiiiight xxx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.493s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb