Glacial Rubble


Advertisement
Published: February 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I thought I would write just a quick note before I leave on the Kepler Track. Yesterday Janet and I went to Milford Sound (which is actually a Fiord, discoverers named it incorrectly) a truely beautiful place--except for the sandflies. Departing Te Anau early we were able to see the mountains of the area with the reflection of the rising sun and morning mist . . . amazing. We went on a two hour cruise around the Sound and saw DOLPHINS!!! I've never seen wild dolphins before, so it was the highlight of the cruise. On the way back to Te Anau we stopped to take a hike to Lake Marian, a hike that was suggested to Janet by a Kiwi who used to work for the Department of Conservation. The hike took about 4 hours, partly because we decided to see how far around the lake we could get. The views were amazing as always, I don't suppose that surprises anyone by now. Today we are preping for the hike and tomorrow we leave! My first backpacking experience . . . I am very excited. I'll write again afterwards.

Advertisement



18th February 2006

Hi
Lisa - I will make sure to have March 9 off as it as important to me, too. Have a wonderful hike. Love, Mom

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb