Death to all Sandflies


Advertisement
Published: February 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Janet and I survived the Kepler Track and I my first backpacking adventure. We returned to Te Anau today at about one o'clock after an easy 4.5 hour hike through forest. The tramp was excellent, a wonderful experience and a lot of fun. Day one was an uphill hike through forest, which took us about 5 hours to complete. This was our one day of beautiful weather and it was definately nice since the views from our first hut were incredible. Because of weather warnings we decided to get an early start on day two--an alpine hike famous for being trecherous during windy periods. Although we couldn't see much of the view, the hike was still fantastic and a lot of fun. Dispite rain and wind we still had a good day of hiking (5.5 hrs) except the 78 switchbacks on the way down the mountain got a little tiring. Upon our arrival at the hut we had soup and gorp and after a bit of a rest went to a short walk to a beautiful waterfall. For day three we decided to take our time getting ready and leaving since we had a pretty easy day ahead of us. We were one of the last groups to leave and I noticed that someone had taken my boots by mistake. Luckily their boots were about the same size, so I managed and in fact liked the new boots a bit better (dispite the fact that I think mine were a bit more worn in . . .). We arrived at the third and final hut after a 4.5 hour hike and spent the rest of the day relaxing and playing cards. Today the hike was alright, I was in my new boots and I have to say that my feet were killing me on the way back. Overall I had a good backpacking experience and I am looking forward to doing it again, even if in the States I do have to carry my own gas cooker and tent. The huts are a brilliant concept--bunks and flush toilets! The only complaint I have about the hike are the sandflies (hence the title). Sandflies are evil little buggers. Janet and I are both nursing really nasty looking bites (Janet especially), so it will be nice to be in the sandfly free community of Dunedin where we are heading tomorrow.

Advertisement



22nd February 2006

Hi! Dad and were wondering when you would finish the hike. Sounds like it was a good experience except for the sandflies and someone taking your boots! Give us a call when you get a chance. Love, Mom
22nd February 2006

What the heck is Gorp?
Am I the only person who doesn't know what gorp is? I'm glad you enjoyed your first backpacking experience. When you come home you and I should go do a hike to 3 finger jack and climb it...it's really fun!

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb