Milford Sound


Advertisement
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

An early start and a very indirect drive to Milford Sound - it's only about a 100 k as the crow flies, but it's nearly 300 by road, stupid mountains!

Beautiful mountains though, please see the pictures, apparently it's technically not a sound, it's a fjord as it was formed by a glacier and not a river or something. Still pretty!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



15th January 2009

So Jealous
I am soooo jealous, I loved that part of NZ! And those Kea parrots were a nightmare when hiking, they would gang up on you to pinch your lunch and then they tore my tent apart :-O Keep having fun, and go do a bungy jump :-D
16th January 2009

NZ
Hey Mike, Thanks for reading! It was so beautiful, I'm definately coming back to the South Island. I'm not sure if I really *need* to do a bungy jump, looks easy enough though... I'll see if there are any opportunities up in the north. I forgot to say what everything was, but I'm glad you knew it was a kea, they didn't steal my lunch thankfully. all the best, you have fun too! Lizzy x

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb