Botanical Gardens


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
February 27th 2014
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -43.5316, 172.637

I arrived at Christchurch airport late afternoon by New Zealand airlines, all my flights with NZ airlines have been great. I caught the super shuttle to YMCA hostel and we were 8 people in the shuttle and I got chatting with them, even the driver got friendly. He showed us some of the Earth quake damage in CCH and the beautiful cathedral which will cost huge amount to restore. I felt really sad with tears at the destruction so I did not have heart to take the pictures, there has been great loss and the community are really feeling the pinch. Some People were moving to suburbs, places are deserted in some areas and I do feel sorry for all the people there. I was last one to be dropped and I paid $24, the driver told me if I booked with super shuttle for return shuttle, through the hostel it would only cost me $15.

I checked in at YMCA which is massive hostel and I had a single room but I had to share the bathrooms, this was not a problem as there were many bathrooms. Bathrooms did look a bit run down but the showers were great, which was more important to me. My room had a Balcony with a nice view and It was cosy in a quiet area.

I quickly went to Botanical gardens which are really beautiful and well cared for. I enjoyed walking the gardens and then someone told me about the flower show but I was too late. I saw the Museum from outside and I also looked for bus stop for my next morning pick up by the tour.

I headed back to the hostel which is v centrally located and I went to the kitchen to make coffee which was v busy with people cooking from scratch. I just used the hot water from the geezer to make coffee and I went to lounge to watch bit of TV. I got talking to some ladies (3 generations) who were very friendly and they gave me excellent advice/ tips for my trip. Two were from Cromwell and one from Dunedin, they told me to sit on the right side for better views which was a good tip. I enjoyed staying at hostel as it is more fun than being alone in a posh hotel.

I warmed the Pokodas/ Parathas, the take away from Chimneys in Rotorua which were delicious and saved me running around looking for food. I also made a hot water bottle which I brought from London and I slept very well, I was pleased with this hostel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb