Devils Bath, Devils Ink Pot & Lady Knox


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
February 27th 2014
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -38.1398, 176.247





Next morning I was picked up at 8 am by Grumpy's Tour for visit to Wai o Tapu, the Thermal Wonderland, A geological volcanic hot spot area with hot pools with fancy colours due to different minerals in the rocks by the volcanic activity.
The Kiwis have a good sense of humour and have given spooky names like Devils Home, Devils bath (green) Devils ink pot and Champagne pool to various hot spots. I was very fascinated by the all colourful geothermal activity, our guide was really good and took us to all the main spots. Also there were written posters describing everything in details and colour chart for each mineral, I absolutely loved each and every minute of my time walking there.



Then the highlight of the morning was to see a real life geyser called Lady Knox Geyser erupt, which erupts at 10.15am every morning with a little help. It was magnificent to see the water bubbling from the ground and pushing itself high into the air, the eruption is quite spectacular and can go on for some time. You can see the video; I was very pleased with the tour guide at Grumpy's and She was not in the least Grumpy.. A visit to Wai o Tapu is a must and at $65 including the entrance it is a bargain.
I was dropped off at the hostel by the Grumpy's and I decided to visit the Chimneys again at 1280 Eruera Street where I had Masala Dosa, Lassi and I bought some Pokodas/Parathas to take away. They packed it well for me as I was going to Christchurch in the afternoon, reaching CCH in the evening and as I wanted to spend my time exploring, ready food would be handy. I definitely recommend Chimney's for good food at great value.
Grumpy's shuttle came to pick me up to take me to airport dot on time, the flight with New Zealand airlines was really good.




Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb