Happy Christchurch on a beautiful Sunday


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
February 13th 2005
Published: February 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Riding a Bycicle ;-)Riding a Bycicle ;-)Riding a Bycicle ;-)

In Christchurch museum
That's it, the real thing - New Zealand. I am really in the "end of the world". I am standing upside down and all the blood goes to my head, and I struggle not to fall down...
We are staying in a backpacker that is for women only. That was the only one where I could find a room, but it has some advantages as very nice showers with hair dryers :-)

So this morning we walked to the center of Christchurch and found the main square full of people and very happy. There were street performers doing tricks, advanced jugling stuff, dancing, music. They also have a flower festival and they have flowers everywhere but in fact the flowers in their botanic garden, that is not related to the festival, are great and enough by themselves.
We took a walking tour with a guide and heard a lot about the history of Christchurch. Shiri was amazed that they had built some big public buildings before they even had roads. A matter of priorities I guess.

During the tour we found two more events: an art and food fair (Yummi!) and that today was the annual teddy bear picnic: everybody had a picnic in the park with their teddy bears. Really, I am not kidding! We should have that at home too, it's fun!

In the late afternoon we strolled in the park and then we saw a stage and people around. We asked and found out they were going to have some show. Again one of this little fun surprises. It was a comic show. I left in the middle because my bottom (nice language for my mom!) was freezing from sitting on the grass though :-( It's not an Israeli summer here.

So summary of first day: Christchurch is not that interesting but on a summer Sunday it's just great to be here!!!



Advertisement



13th February 2005

Christchurch
I'm sure you WILL find the nice things in Christchurch... it's like a small Enlgish village... nice streets, scenery, food and music [look for live jazz!] and a good place to start! ENJOY! SH - SH
13th February 2005

your blog insists on not informing me on new posts!
And before you head south, I wanted to remind: BEWARE OF THE SHEEP! - Daph
14th February 2005

To Shahar: Unfortunately the jazz is Wed-Sat
Well, I'll be back in Christchurch, I will remember. - Anat

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb