Bye Bye NZ! :(


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
July 29th 2008
Published: July 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello there peeps!

Sooooo....today is my last full day in New Zealand!! 😞 It feels like my time here has been a complete and utter whirlwind! Everything has gone soooo fast, but I have had such an amazing experience.....definately coming back in the summer months when it's a wee bit warmer!!!!!hehehe

Since my Skydive I have done a loop of the South Island finally arriving in Christchurch yesterday. After Nelson our next main stop was Lake Mahinapua where we had our infamous Kiwi Experience 'Poo Party'. This is basically a party where the driver of the bus gives you a theme to dress up as. We had the lovely theme of Bin liners for the girls, whilst the guys had to dress up as girls! There were 1st and 2nd place prizes for the most creative costumes...more about that later! :P Us girlies rallied our money together and purchased an array of different coloured bin liners to create our costumes with! It was sooo much fun (and interesting!) creating something out of a bin liner of all things!!haha We went to see the Lake when we arrived at Lake Mahinapua (it was really pretty) and our accomodation for the night was at Mahinapua Hotel, run by 'local legend' Les (seriously it was quite a datty little place, but it was fine for just the one night!!) We had our dinner cooked for us and it was extremely yummy....we also got pudding of the chocolate banana cake variety as we had Yanick the baker on our bus which was brilliant!! He was soo sweet too!!hehe Anyways onto our costumes.....we had a cow, a rag doll, a cavegirl, an 80's chick and I was a french pirate (I even made a parrott for my shoulder!!) We had a really good night and the boys all looked hilarious too!! :D I shall definately put some piccis up on facebook soon my friends don't you worry!! Oh yeah and I won 1st prize btw :P :D It was a Canyon Swing which is like a bungy but you swing rather than bouce back up at the bottom! I was sooooooooo scared, but it was sooooo fun when I finally did it in Queenstown :D I was so chuffed that I won too, as I wouldn't have done it if I hadn't, so it all worked out well :D

The next stop was Franz Josef where we did our Glacier Hike. This was an unreal and amazing experince!!! It was just sooo beautiful and even though we had attrocious weather it was one of the highlights of my trip I think!! We did the full day hike, but we had to turn back just before we got to the highest point as the weather conditions were too bad....basically there was a thunderstorm!!! I think we were even inside a cloud at one point (not a thunder one though, thank goodness! :P) It was really very beautiful though and I would highly recommend it to everybody!!

After Franz Josef we headed to Wanaka. Wanaka is a really pretty and quirky town and I would have loved to have spent some more time here!! In our evening here Megs, Sarah, Ellie and I went to Cinema Paradiso to see Happy Go Lucky. The special thing about this place is that it always has an interval and serves warm cookies (and omg were they amazing!!!) It also has sofas and comfy chairs rather than standard cinema seats!! It even has a car you can sit in!!hehe It was a really lovely and cute place, and i'm soooooooo glad that we went there!!!

The next day we went to Puzzling World which was realllyyy cool! It has a maze and 4 rooms that present youy with all kinds of illusions and mind bogglers....it was extermely interesting and fun to walk around!!!

We later arrived in Queenstown. It was really good to get here as we were there for a week so we had the chance to sit back, unpack a little and relax, after being on the move practically every day for the past 3 weeks!! yay :D The girls had some ski-ing organised, so Ellie and i hung out whilst they did that which was really fun :D

On my first full day in QT I went and did my Canyon Swing which was really cool....I think I still preferred the Skydive though!!hehe I also got an infamous Fergburger, which truely lived up to it's name!!haha....it was really goood :D The next day Ellie and i planned to do the Lake walk. Now we thought that you could walk around the Lake in 2 hours....this is NOT true. It is a mahusive Lake and would probably take days!!!! We did walk part of the way around however, and it was a really pretty and easygoing walk :D We spent the rest of the time exploring QT and the shops that it had to offer us too :D
QT offers some great nights out, so we had a really fun time with that....World Bar serve cocktails in Teapots which was always rather entertaining!! :P
Towards the end of the week I became ill (sympathy please!) Seriously I couldn't even get out of bed....this was majorly pooey as it meant that I couldn't go out on our last weekend in QT 😞((( Sarah and I did the Hill/Time walk just before illness struck, which was hard but rewarding when you reached the top :D It said you needed medium to high fitness for it so we were welllll impressed with ourselves!!hehehe

On Sunday we went to Milford Sound which was really beautiful...and no it is NOT a sound but a fjord!!haha Bless the Kiwis :P It took a 5 hour bus journey to get us there, but it was worth it, although the underwater observatory did not live up to expectations!!

Yesterday was spent on the coach travelling to Christchurch, which is where I am at this very second! It is now Tuesday and I am very aware that I have to leave this beautiful country tomorrow, so I think I shall have to leave you all now and go and make that most of my day!! Hopefully the warmer climate of California will clear up my cold and give me a tan that says...'yes i've been travelling for the past 5 months'!!hehehe

Love you all loads

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxmwahmwahmwahxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb