Catching up with the [distant] relatives


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
August 5th 2004
Published: August 5th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Auntie Janet and Susie the puppy and me of courseAuntie Janet and Susie the puppy and me of courseAuntie Janet and Susie the puppy and me of course

Susie is a seven week old collie pup. I know my sisters would have wanted me to bring her home - and I wanted to as well - but by the time she would have got through quarentine she would be older and less cute - yes, I have thought this through.
I spent the last few days in New Zealand in Christchurch staying with my great-auntie Janet - well I think that is her relation to me. Janet has been in N.Z. for forty years, yet she still has a broad Dundee accent while I have been in the country four weeks and have a strange mixture of accents depending on who I am talking to at the time.
Janet and her welcoming friends and family are proud Scots and seem to have enjoyed re-telling stories from their past and I have very much enjoyed listening to them. Janet took good care of me, feeding me home-made soup and making sure my electric blanket was turned on. In fact it was just like being at home - which is where I wanted to go when I left for the airport. I was all packed and in the frame of mind to get on a plane and go home. Something I have learned is to do my stop-overs on the way out rather than on the way back unless it is for a longer period of time.
I am going to have to work hard in Melbourne to get me out of this hopefully temporary state of home-sickness.
Will keep you informed but I am unlikely to go to the hassel of changing dates at this point.


Advertisement



10th August 2004

Not so distant relatives
Hi Vikki, here at Fiona's - not so distant! Looking forward to seeing you Sunday, luv dad,mum and the superbrats xxxxx. PS Fiona would like to say hello hi Vikki hope you are having a wonderful time I wish I had your courage to go all that distance by yourself. see you soon.
2nd September 2004

Vikki :)
I know you're home now and maybe mum has told you, but John and I have a gorgeous border collie puppy too. I'll maybe send you an email with some pictures. I only got an email telling me about your last journal entry (the neighbours night one) its a shame I didn't get them before because it seems I've missed hearing about most of your adventures. Take care, Pamela

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb