March.... already???


Advertisement
Published: March 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello
If somebody hadn't told me, i would've never thought march was already here. It seems like december was yesterday and i was preparing to set off.
I hate the unyeilding force that is time. It can't be reasoned with.
So, you don't waste it.
Hope everyone is doing great.
The weather set in.
I left Fjordland and explored the west coast of the south island. i explored the glaciers first. I went up to the Franz Josph Glacier first but too many people and way too commercial. I went back down to the Fox Glacier and was able to explore that valley in peace. The ocean is only 7 miles away from these massive glaciers. They are receding but they still snake down from high up the mighty Southern Alps. I rolled north through the lagoon country around okarito then up to Greymouth. An old (gold) boom town and now a railroad and port town. Reminds me of some towns in Colo i know. Rough and industrial with some pioneering history.
I had some great conversations with people from Israel. I like their kind. Jory gave me some great insight into thailand and mongolia. She has been there many times. I can't wait to get there.
I have since done some research ( at a good bookstore here in town) ( mom you would love it) Brother, i kick myself for not setting up the way sooner but i will be back. The Pamirs......is where it's at.... Tajikistan and Kyrgystan. Unknown frontiers. That is ours. They see nobody. A foreigner like every 3 days sees the highlands that only the Himalayas and hindu kush can match. I will see what happens. Its on. Over to Tibet and then Nepal then down through India. Ohhhhhh i can feel it. ........................someday!!
Anyways.......back to NZ. I have loved my time here and i dread having to leave. So i don't think about it.
Up the westcoast was nice. I Headed east across Aurther's Pass. The northern Southern Alps. I spent a few days up in the basins and climbed a couple of peaks that offered GREAT views of the Alps.
It reminded me of Colorado and the silverton area very much.

I got back to christchurch saturday afternoon and then hit the Crusaders Rugby match here that night. New Zealand has 4 professional teams. 2 on the north island and 2 on the south. I have now seen both south island teams. The Highlanders from Otago (like one of our states) and the Crusaders of Canterbury. 14 teams make up the Super 14 league from here and australia and south africa. The stadium was much bigger and the packed house was as loyal as bronco fans. I sat next to 3 older ladies who became progressively hammered as the match went on. Crazy they were. It was a great experience. Different than in Dunedin.
The girl from CU is here studying and doing well. Good times. At the place i am staying here in town, I ran into Melanie. She was the girl from Germany, the flight attendant, who i met in the Catlins. We spent all day together. She rolls out in the morning to Australia. Too bad. We'll have dinner later. Will meet back up in the homeland in June. Maybe
Its funny. I take my daily d-run through the botanic gardens here and its a little different experience to stroll through the rose and water gardens with a beautiful girl. Just an observation. And yes Scott, I know she's someones' daughter....

What a chill day it was today. We had fun. Great weather. It broke finally. I will head out tomorrow too.
I thought about working. Organic farm or commercial fruit picking. For food and a little money maybe. But the idea of that and no freedom is just plain painful. Spoiled i am. I know. But that is the life right now. We'll see what i feel like doing in the morning. I might just hit the open road and head north to the Golden Bay area. I don't know.......
and i don't care
I have 2 and half weeks left in NZ. And only a week with the car. (Reg and warr. run out)
I can't believe it.

Hello to some new readers.
Loren. Get school over with and get over here. The Rez is the homeland i know but you must see some of these things before you die my friend. We have 18 holes of mulligans to play when i get back. Can't wait...
Lindsey. glad you and the (growing ) family are doing well. tell them hello. Look forward to seeing the new baby.
Rosie. Good job on the season. I think next year will be even better for you. Keep doing good things and tell emm and mike hey.
Jerome. Glad you are doing good things. I'll see you in the fall.
I am glad you all can travel along with me in a way.

I will get two rolls of film put on CD and will place pictures on the site this week.

I hope everyone has a great week

I will book my flights to Scotland now. Crazy.... i can fly from Amsterdam to Edinburgh, Scotland for 45 bucks....and then after i explore the highlands, villiages and castles for weeks, back from Inverness to London to catch my flight to Iceland for 25 bucks......price wars going on.....good for me.....
See ya

Love
Jonathan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.334s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb