Woo Hoo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Blenheim
August 13th 2006
Published: August 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hamner SpringsHamner SpringsHamner Springs

Warren, Tip and Thomas
So here we are just over a week after being in New Zealand, and how am I you may ask!

Well all is going ok. I've finally managed to get a job on a vineyard working for a company called Four Vintage Contractors in Blenheim, which is in the north of the south island near Picton, where you get the ferry. I bought some gloves yesterday to keep my pandies warm , so hopefully it will be ok, although I think it is quite hard work. They pick me up at 7am, which meanes that I have to wake up at about 5.45am to get to the bus on time, nice!

Sunday, Warren and Tip took me up to Kaikora to see the sights up there, and we stopped at Hamner Sprinkgs along the way for a coffee. It was really beautiful I coldn't really see much because it was really foggy! Monday, Warren took me to buy some cheap trousers which was nice of him and Tuesday I got the bus to Dunedin! Didn't really do much there, apart from finding a job, although the town is very pretty and is surrounded by lovely big hills. It was named by a Scottish man, hence the name!

Friday, I cadged a lift back to Christchurch with Warren and Tip and then yesterday I got the bus really early to come to Blenheim, which is the Royston Vasey of the north island. I'm on the top of a three bed bunk, and it took me ages to be able to get down this morning as its so high! If I don't fall out then it will be a miracle! Haven't got much to say, or anything to report really. Made a friend from Argentina at the hostel but that's about it! Oh, last night he invited me to have tea with him and his friends, and they cooked really tasty pizzas, I was very impressed! Will chat soon! Sorry if I haven't replied to emails but my email server is down again, and I tried to send some from my hotmail account but it wouldn't so not sure what is wrong there!!

Take care


love me
xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Me, Tip and ThomasMe, Tip and Thomas
Me, Tip and Thomas

This is at Kaikora, where we stopped at the sea lion colony
The Sea LionsThe Sea Lions
The Sea Lions

Warren's!
The Beach BitThe Beach Bit
The Beach Bit

These next ones are mine!!


13th August 2006

I'll be in Blenheim in December
Hey Julz, Fantastic about your job! How great to be working in that industry - surely there are perks for working for a winery. I'll be in Blenheim at the end of Dec as a good mate of mine is getting married there in a winery. You'll have to give me the heads up on the best ones to go visiting and scope out where the local talen (if any) hangs out LOL.
13th August 2006

Don't give up
Julie, You seem a little down in latest blog, don't give up. Hotmail could not be working 'cos you haven't used it for a certain length of time, they regularly wipe out accounts that aren't used. But, hey, what do I know. Enjoy NZ and keep blogging - by the way how long are you planning on being there and where next? Love Pat

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb