The Worst Job In The World, Ever!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Blenheim
August 20th 2006
Published: August 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

View Of DunedinView Of DunedinView Of Dunedin

Well, part of it!
Oh my good lord! I hate my job, I hate it, I hate it, I hate it!! If anyone can think of a job that they've had which was worse, I'd really love to hear about it!! It might make doing my job easier if I can think about someone elses misery!!!!

It has to be quite easily the worst job that I've ever had, and I've done some shit ones before, like photocopying and filing in a room on my own for eight hours a day, but this is definitely worse! I can't believe that I have to go back there again on Monday! I really don't want to. But there's not much work anywhere else so its either that or nothing! I've got the owner of the hostel on the case trying to find me something else, but all the work is drying up so I think I might be stuck with it.

Basically, there's some young vines on this vineyard that the previous contractor stuffed up in setting up. So we have to go along and prune the bushes, then tie the vines to the wire. The vines are only little so you have to bend
KaikoraKaikoraKaikora

How it should look!
or crouch down and its so cold there! On Tuesday the wind was bitter. I had on two pairs of socks and trousers, a thermal vest, a t-shirt, a jumper, my coat, a scarf, a hat and the hood of my coat pulled up, and I was only warm enough when I kept working! Luckily it has got warmer as the week's gone on, but my skin is shot with all the wind!!

On this vineyard there's 85,000 plants and the rows we;re working on are 1km long each. As far as you can see there's rows of more plants, I hate it! The one saving grace is the scenery, but even that isn't enough to make the job bearable. Its lucky that the hostel I'm in is wicked. I've made some really good friends there so when we come home we all sit and have a giggle and watch films. They have battle ships as well which I love, and Trivial Pursuit! Did I tell you that I hate my job?!

Ooh, yesterday during the day, me Tania and Pablo went kayaking on the river! It was soo much fun, although a couple of times I was
KaikoraKaikoraKaikora

Oops, just realised that chronologically speaking, these kaikora photos should have been on the blog before, but i can't be bothered to change it now, sorry!
in danger of falling in!! Last night, we all went out into town, but me and Tania hated the club so we went to a Brazilian party in an Irish (I know, only in Blenheim) bar instead and had sooooo much fun! They had a live band playing Brazilian music and we spent the whole night salsaring with sexy Brazilian men!!! It was very good.

Not much planned for this week. I get picked up for again tomorrow at 7am, oh joy and that will kick off another week. Its Tania's birthday tomorrow so we're having a small party and I'm going to bake a cake. I think next weekend we;'re going to try and do a cycle tour of thr vineyards so that should be interesting. There loads of them around here so we may be able to do it for a couple of weekends, hurrah!!

Right, will go! Hope you're all well! Please don't anyone be flying to the stated anytime soon, I want you all in one piece for when I get back!!

Lots of love


Julie


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

KaikoraKaikora
Kaikora

With the mountains! I know there's a lot, but i think its soooo beautiful!
The View From The GardenThe View From The Garden
The View From The Garden

This is at the Grapevine hostel in Blenheim!
The View From The GardenThe View From The Garden
The View From The Garden

From the other way!
Pablo And The CanoesPablo And The Canoes
Pablo And The Canoes

Ooh it could be a story.


20th August 2006

Me again
Well I get the idea you hate the job. Re Brazilian music we saw a film called 'The Lost City' a couple of weeks ago directed and starred in by Andy Garcia it's about Havana before and during the Castro takeover in 1959 and the music was superb - go see it if you get the chance. Otherwise not much to add as I just e-mailed. Keep chopping those vines and counting the dosh. Pat
21st August 2006

Job?
hey Julie, i can think of a worse job (o2 customer relations). Seriously though, at least you've got one now.... take care and keep your head up Benjaminxxx
15th October 2006

Immigrant Worker
Ha ha, you're totally a migrant worker! You hate your job? imagine being a mexican coming to California to work on the grape vines and wine vineyards- illegally crossing a dangerous border, making $40 a day under the table for working 10 hour in 37 degree heat, sending half of that home to your family and not even speaking the language. I think supplementing your travelling by pruning vines in Beautiful Blenheim is a good deal! ha ha.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb