Exciting and nerve-racking day


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Ashburton
September 24th 2017
Published: September 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Aside from my common life where I've got to do some duties around the house, like hang out the laundry, feed the chickens, bake, do some gardening, clean up the house I had a very exciting and nerve-racking day today...
But let's start from the beginning:
So, this morning I drove to the Mount Sunday, one of the locations where the Lord of the Rings was filmed. The way through there was stunning. Just the road, the mountains, some sheeps, my car with music and I. So far, so good. But then the trouble started: I saw 2 guys, who were sitting next to their crashed car and yeah their car was basically a scrap: it was lying upside down in the middle of the street... I stopped to ask if everything was ok but they told me that someone was already coming. Well that was the first event that really took it out of me. I tried not to think about it too much and I continued driving. I thought that a bit less than half of my tank would be enough to go and return. Wrong! In fact, I nearly ran out of gas. But it's getting worse: I had no service so I had no possibility to call anybody. However I drove to the Mount Potts Station as I was not far away from it. On my way back I happily crossed a very small camping site, where people spend their week-end (lucky me that it was a sunday), where I tried to find someone who could give me some gas. Fortunalety I found a very lovely family, who gave me some of their fuel. When I asked them how much I owed them they simply replied that it was ok and that they just want me to drive home safely. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR HELP!
So a lesson that I've learned: Always fill up your tank before you drive to somewhere in nowhere.



Tessy


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb