All aboard!


Advertisement
Published: November 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Aboard the TranzAlpineAboard the TranzAlpineAboard the TranzAlpine

Heading for the mountains
I'm always leery of those "things to do before you die" places to visit. What happens when you see them? Do you die? What if they tank and disappoint? Do you die anyway? And since I was seeing two of them - Aitutaki and the famous TranzAlpine railway trek on this odyssey - was I setting myself up?
Happy to say Aitutaki was amazing. And I am still here. And yesterday's trip across the spine of New Zealand's South Island, from Christchurch to Greymouth and back in about 8 hours was simply breathtaking. You truly feel the scope of the land, from the green sheep and deer paddocks marked with huge hedges that start almost as soon as the train departs. The train was very comfy with an open-air viewing car in the middle that was left us intrepid photogs wind-whipped and freezing. It was a sunny, temperate day, but cold as the lunar landscape as we approached Arthur's Pass and the mountains. Some of the scenery was barren and rocky, with huge hills and those hardy sheep. Then there were pines and great meadows of brilliant yellow broom flowers and purple foxglove. But as we started our climb, going through
At Arthur's PassAt Arthur's PassAt Arthur's Pass

The highest point on the trip
tunnels and over bridges that seemed to hang over gorges, the scenery became breathtaking. Rushing streams, silver-pebbled watersheds, snow-capped mountains. We saw hawk-like birds and lots of black mudhens with red beaks. When we made it to the west coast, Greymouth proved to me a lovely little town. The ladies at the local bakery were stricken when I asked for a savoury pie for lunch and they said "oh no, we're out of mince!" They were charmingly concerned. I bought a chicken pie and they insisted I also try a cream pastry, filled with raspberry jam and the local cream that is pale yellow and almost butter-like. Wow. Damn good thing I don't live there, I'd look like a Samoan.
The ride back was equally lovely, perhaps even more so as the sunlight softenened from the harsh morning light.
Today I took a gondola ride and saw amazing scenery again, had a great facial with local products, killer fish and chips and am now about to emark for the airport and on to Napier and the North Island for the final leg of my amazing adventure. I'm off to the wine country - yes, I'll have lots to share.
Hope
The bakery ladiesThe bakery ladiesThe bakery ladies

The pride of Greymouth!
you are all well.
Linda


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

A wee indulgenceA wee indulgence
A wee indulgence

Some champers as I travel
Magnificent mountainsMagnificent mountains
Magnificent mountains

The mountains come into view
Lord of the RIngsLord of the RIngs
Lord of the RIngs

Looks familiar to Hobbits
Gondola viewGondola view
Gondola view

Views from the Gondola today
NighttimeNighttime
Nighttime

The Chritshchurch chalice at night.


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb