AND they have wine!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Hawkes Bay » Napier
November 27th 2007
Published: November 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

NapierNapierNapier

My hotel as seen from the Marine Parade
Greetings blog watchers:
I boarded an Air New Zealand prop plane in chilly drizzle last night and landed in the sunny and warm Hawke's Bay region of the North Island. Once again, I feel like I've landed in the travellers' version of hog heaven. The small seaside town ringed by hills filled with homes that perch dramatically all the way up, was all but flattened in a 1931 earthquake. When it was rebuild, art deco was all the rage and so the town is predominately in that style. I'd say 75 per cent of the place is tropical deco - think South Beach on a smaller scale - very little over 2 storeys. And you know me and art deco, people. As they say on Corrie, I'm gobsmacked. My hotel, The Masonic, is a bit of a creaker, but a deco gem. My room opens onto a common roof terrace that overlooks the main street - called the Marine Parade - and the bandshell and sea walk beyond. There's a fantastic deco bathing spa a block down - a series of small pools, whirlpools, waterfalls and the like, all facing the sea. Can't wait to try it out. IN about an
The MasonicThe MasonicThe Masonic

My hotel
hour, I'm off on a deco walking tour of the town and at 1 I meet Vince, of Vince's Wine Tours, coz if the deco wasn't enough, Napier and region is like a mini-Sonoma - a premier wine region best known for pinots and white varieties. Oh yes, they also produce exceptional food, like the venison sausages and grilled tomatoes topped with pesto I had for brekkie in a (yes deco) cafe that was once a clothing store. Thinking of doing a sip and cycle tomorrow - they provide a bike, backpack, route and support van for "purchases" or if you get too wobbly on tastings. I did a similar trip in Sonoma and am anxious to enjoy the kind of slow and easy exploration a bike allows.
As has been the case since I got here, the kiwis are magnificent. A kinder, more friendly bunch I have never met anywhere. They are unfailingly cheerful, polite, curious and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is an admirable mix of laid back with no-problem efficiency. I am truly falling in love with NZ. I advise all blog readers to begin returning empties and saving their allowances now - you
The morning paperThe morning paperThe morning paper

Breakfast in a local cafe
have to come here. And with that, I'm off to explore Napier.
Hope all of you are well.
Linda


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

bathing poolsbathing pools
bathing pools

Going to check this spot out tomorrow. Looks amazing


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb