Would you like a dolphin with that latte?


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Akaroa
December 15th 2005
Published: December 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Route to Akaroa

Takaka to Picton: Dropped off Chippy with Caitlin Picton to Christchurch and finally, Akaroa!

Greetings from Akaroa Adventures!

After a few days of travelling from Takaka, Picton and Christchurch, I arrived in Akaroa on Sunday evening. I've signed on as a helper for a small kayak, mountain bike and coffee shop on the main thoroughfare through town. In exchange for three and a half days of relaxed "work" and coffee making, I get my own room, a bed and food.

I started my first day today. At noon, I ambled out of the house in the sweaty clothes I had just gone for a run in. I plopped down next to Darin (the owner of Akaroa Adventures) at the picnic table. I read my book for the next few hours, stopping only to give change to a backpacker who needed internet time across the street and to sell a blue plastic dolphin souvenir. As Darin would say, "Cruisey!" (a relaxed Kiwi and a great boss/host)

As you can tell, things are quite relaxed now but I've been told tourist season really picks up from Boxing Day, December 26th, through the New Year. I've also started another PAYING job in town at the local general store. The shop is right along the wharf and does a lot of business. So in a week, I've added cash register experience as well as barista extraordinaire to my padded resume 😊

I went into the job blindly which was very important to me druing this part of my trip. Living courageously, trusting the good in the world and all that jazz... I have to say it has payed off splendidly! Having no idea what Akaroa was like, I've discovered this tiny town is beautiful. With a profound French influence historically, architecturally and commercially, it adds a bit of flair I haven't experienced in New Zealand thus far. Our coffee caravan is called "Le Cafe", the backpacker next door is called "Chez La Mer" and I live on Rue Lavaud.
The main road is flat, long, skirts the beach and the wharf. I can run, kayak, eat, email, bike, read without having to once pack or unpack my bag or take out my wallet. It's something that I have learned to appreciate over the past month and a half. I'll be sure to savor it, at least until I get restless again!

Be sure to include pics of the town and jobs, soon!

meesh 😊



Advertisement



19th December 2005

CONGRATULATIONS
I ENJOY READING YOUR JOURNALS AND PICUTURE MYSELF BEING IN ONE OF THOSE REMOTE SMALL VILLAGES. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR "PAYING JOB". MERRY CHRISTMAS. LUV, MOM.
20th December 2005

Hello Hello!!!
Hi MK!!! I was quite intrigued by the title of this post:) Clever.... anyhow...hi from the US! I finally have time to breathe/write since my exams are finished and now I'm half-assing a few more papers...but anyhow, this livejournal's been great! very entertaining, fun to read (you're a great writer!) and it will be a fantastic souvenier for you when you get home! Thanks for keeping us all updated... NOW...my gift to you: http://www.collegehumor.com/movies/hall+of+fame/151790/ go to it. I know the internet connection may be kidna slow but you've gotta trust me...it's worth it. you'll laugh so hard/think it's so cute you'll cry. You and Cait (more you than Cait, but both of you) are the first people I thought of when I saw it...gotta love spring of 2004. Keep having fun playing with the Kiwis! Love, Kerry

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb