Working Girls Have More Fun


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Akaroa
December 29th 2005
Published: January 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi friends!

It's been a while, but I am confident that few of you were kept up nights by my online absence. I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday with loved ones, and that you keep up the fun over the New Year.

I've settled in nicely here in Akaroa, spending my days in a rather mundane routine that I am feasting on with the relish of a consistency starved traveller. Monday through Wednesday, I work at the Supply Store which is an anachronistic ye old general store in the age of super-tubs-of-mayonnaise-for-a-dollar bulk shopping. Roger and Coral are pleasant bosses who truly enjoy supplying the town with no more than three of anything you could ever need to eat, drink, fish or do repairs.

I work with an interesting cast of characters. First is Roger and Coral's plump adolescent granddaughter who likes to regale me with tales of the time she went to Australia with her high school jazz band, how she wants to be a paediatrician when she grows up and how she spends her breaks at the local church practicing the organ. Next is Alistair, an awkward red headed boy who most often replies our
CaravanCaravanCaravan

Darin behind the counter
questions with smiles and throaty noises. He also happens to be the most experienced worker there and helps us find the rat traps, egg timers and the all important Tim Tams. Finally, there is Claudia, the other backpacker from Germany. She lives in her campervan at the Top 10 Holiday Park at the other end of town and keeps me sane with number puzzles and laughing at the sunburnt tourists that come into the store to buy singles of beer and a bag of peanuts.

All in all, it's been a good experience and fun to get to know all the locals that come in to buy their cigarettes and newspapers.

My other job is Thursday through Sunday with Darin hiring out kayaks, mountain bikes and other various bits that tourists use down on the beach. I've also managed to botch up enough lattes and cappuccinos that I've taken to completely avoiding the coffee caravan. Instead, I take on the role of eccentric kayak guide. I bring kayakers down to the wharf, striking up conversation and tell them how to "survive Akaroa Harbour!". I meet a lot of travellers who are always surprised to hear my American accent
Shout OutShout OutShout Out

French Connection?
and are pleased to hear that I am in the country for an extended period of time.

Today I took the afternoon off to go for a paddle of my own. I wanted to build my street cred by actually doing what I was advertising. I took out an orange sit on top with a rudder and my camera. I was keen on experiencing the Hectare's Dolphins that have been making their way all the way to Akaroa harbour.

I paddled about an hour into a moderate head wind and against the current. I was dodging small yachts and charter boats. Soon, one of these charter boats was creeping along side. I could hear the tour from the scratchy PA system and reading the side of the boat, it said "Akaroa Dolphin Experience". I was curious and paddling closer, I could hear them mention "that kayaker over there" and before I could blink, I saw a pair of fins appear out of the water.

There was a small pod of dolphins swimming around my kayak, breaking the surface with their fins. I was paralyzed with excitement and briefly considered getting out my camera, but realized that would
Dolphin?Dolphin?Dolphin?

It's that grey blur in the bottom half...
take too much time. Instead, I relaxed and soaked in my close encounter. A pair of them swam within my reach, just under the surface of the water. I got to take a good look at these miniature dolphins that are just about a meter long and greyish and white in color. They were extremely playful and followed me home, giving my kayak friendly nudges.

All in all, I feel really at peace here on this beautiful bay. I am constantly mucking around with kayaks and paddling so I feel quite at home. It has been nice to have a family to spend the holidays with and I enjoy getting to know Darin and Yuki, the other helper, as well as all the other local townspeople who are eager to advise any new "locals".

Next entry... New Year's in Christchurch!
meesh 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



2nd January 2006

Hey Meesh
Just wanted to wish you a happy 2006. That dolphin encounter sounded great...wish I could have been there, too. Your feet look pretty tan...are you wearing your sunscreen???Lisa
2nd January 2006

Happy New Year!
It sounds like a pretty neat place! I'm jealous, wish I was there too :) Hope you had a wonderful christmas and new year and I am looking forward to seeing you when you're back!

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb