Good riddance (time of your life)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Akaroa
March 19th 2007
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Best week ever!

Last weekend (well, I guess two weekends ago) was so amazing. I went to Akaroa on Saturday which is a beautiful town on Banks Peninsula that overlooks a sheltered harbor that is home to dolphin pods and penguins, as well as many other birds that are very beautiful and playful. We hired sea kayaks, which are different from a regular kayak that I am used to, in that you don't steer with your paddle, but rather use foot pedals to move a rudder that steers you. We explored sea caves that looked like they were left over set pieces from Pirates of the Caribbean, got up close and personal with Hector dolphins, the most rare type of dolphin. They swam up and around our kayaks and jumped around in front of us. They are really majestic; so graceful and carefree. It was really moving to see them glide and fly in the water. I also did a nice free climb over the ocean on some rocks that jutted out off the shore. It was a nice boulder traverse that I miss doing and wanted to take advantage of such a great natural rock face that overlooked the crashing waves and taunted me with some serious pain if I should miss and hold and fall. Where's the fun when there is not risk of serious bodily harm?

The weather was better than should be allowed. The deep blue sky coloring the ocean a teal that you could see down for meters in, broken by the occasional sculpture of a cloud, morphing into various animals and faces as it traipsed across the sky, meandering toward the mountains with no intention of getting there too soon. The sun shone down to keep us warm, and the wind balanced it out to cool us off when we worked too hard getting around the bay.

After the long day paddling around the whole harbor (about 6 hours) and brushing up against the much rougher open ocean, we retreated back to shore and partook of some fish and chips. Well, I didn't so much have the fish, but I did eat a cordon bleu with chips. A great day.

The next day, Sunday, the weather was again nice, so after church I decided to head to the beach with some mates and check it out. Of course, in typical New Zealand fashion, the weather was fickle and turned on us as we sat on the sand. A few of the girls decided that sunbathing under clouds was futile, but I was content to read my book. After a while, Toby decided to go hire a surfboard and muck around in the water for a while. I was getting restless and decided to go with him, keep him company and watch him in action. I was also thinking about manning up and going for a swim despite the chilly breeze. As we walked across the breakers to the surf shop, we ran into none other than Fred and Gen, the French Canadian team leaders who left a couple weeks prior to go on holiday. They happened to be back for the day before Fred left for Canada and were hanging on the beach and surfing. Small world. As we got closer and realized who it was we went to say hi. As it turned out, they were done surfing but still had time left for the boards and wet suits. They offered them to Toby and I free of charge. I have never surfed, though have always wanted to. Yes, I do own Blue Crush, and no, not just because it has Kate Bosworth in a bikini. I admire surfing. Anyway, I had no intention of paying to try it when I knew nothing, preferring to take lessons, but, hey, who am I to turn down free?

Toby and I then swam out on our boards and had the best time I've ever had in the ocean. I started on a long board (about 9.5 feet) then, after mastering that, moved onto the shorter "real" surfboard (7'6"). I was able to ride waves on both and feel absolutely in love with the sport. I can totally see how people get addicted to it. I now fully understand the Beach Boy song that claims "catch a wave and you're sitting on top of the world..." There is no feeling quite like paddling just right and standing up as the wave rises beneath you. I'm hooked.

Then, to top it all off, I received a gift this week from two Swedish girls I knew briefly in Auckland. And, for the record, despite what everyone asks when I tell them this, I am not, in fact, a gigolo. I got text from the girls saying that they were leaving New Zealand and wanted to know how Matt and I have been, etc. I sent them back a message about life traveling and how we are now in Christchurch. They said that they were leaving from Christchurch and that we may run into each other. Despite the small world encounters I've had in New Zealand, which have been numerous, I figured that it would never happen. I did not plan on going out and was not too worried about running into them. They ended up staying at Base, so they say Matt. They then texted me the next day to say that they were leaving early the next morning and did not know what to do with their car. They did not have time to sell it and wanted to know, therefore, if I wanted it. For free. Just as a gift. A non-gigolo gift.

"Hey, want a free car?"
"Um, nah..."

Yeah, right. More like, "Duh!"

So, now I have a car. But, get this, it is a manual, which I barely know how to drive. And it is on the wrong side. So, as if stick was not hard enough for me to begin with, I have to shift with my left hand. And every time I need to turn my windshield wipers go ballistic since everything is on the opposite side to what I'm used to. But, if nothing else, I can sell my '94 Mazda Familia and make some free money off it. Sweet as.

Oh, and it's white. The Swedish girls decided they ought to name it Whitey. They're Swedish, mind you. So, while they were telling me about it and how much they love the car, they were popping out with Swedish accent laden sentences like "I love Whitey. Whitey's the best. Whitey can do anything..." Now, I went to school in Tennessee for four years and still felt really uncomfortable with them lavishing praise on "Whitey" all the time. So now whenever I need to alert another driver with a toot of my horn is that a "honky"?

Anyway, all in all, amazing week, with God pouring his blessing on me faster than I could pick them all up. I also met some great Christian girls from the Dominican Republic and their male Scottish friend with whom I spent a sober St. Patrick's day. I was not looking forward to babysitting the drunkies again that night, especially since I was not feeling too well, so staying in and hanging with them was a great relief.

Oh, and, speaking of drunkies, Matt left for Tonga, so now I am on my own officially. Not too shabby. I wish him the best and hope that he enjoys his travels alone. I think it is for the best all the way around, since we are at different places in life now.

Well, I'm running out of time, but wanted to at least fill y'all in on some of the great things happening here. I plan on leaving Christchurch sometime soon, hopefully early in April. I always seem to end up working longer than I intend, but things seem to happen that way. I'm saving money now, but am ready to hit the road again.

Be praying for me as I continue to lead the door team here for Greenpeace. Things are going well, but it's still not easy.

I love and miss you all!

All my best,
Dan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb