I've got soul but I'm not a soldier...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
March 8th 2007
Published: March 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, this was the first week that I was officially solely in charge of the Christchurch door to door team for Greenpeace. It was also the best week we have had results wise since the team began. Coincidence? Probably. Either way I'm pretty stoked. It's been neat to be in charge and get to draw up the maps and handle all the pressure that comes with running a team, but also a little stressful. On Wednesday we had some interviews, which was good since my team is fixin to disintegrate (for those of you keeping score at home, I did just say fixin. I love you, Nashville.) since Matt will be flying to Tonga on the 16th, then Tobias leaves for Germany via Asia on the 20th and Freyja will be ramblin' on to see more of New Zealand about that same time. Tony, the 67 year old man that we hired has been taking some time off (after only one week on...) and may or may not be a viable employee depending on how he feels. Door to door is very trying, both physically and mentally. I hope he can keep up, because he has great spirit and reaches a demographic that I cannot tap the way he can.
So, Wednesday was interviews, and I the group interview itself was not the hard part. It was then deciding who to hire and who to let down. That's tough! We did hire two of the four candidates, one of whom, Mathew Willam (yes, that is his name. Mathew with one T and William. I knew right then he needed to work for me.) came today for an observation day. I think he'll do great. The other is a 54 year old woman named Nikki (again, how hard was it to see it was fate?) that has recently decided to stop teaching pre-school / kindergarten and save the world. She did a stellar job during the role playing portion of the interview and I think that she, too, will do great and also reach a demographic that I may have trouble relating too. She cannot start, however, for 3 weeks since she has to give notice at her job.

In other news, I moved... again. I'm now living at my third hostel, but I think I'll stay at this one. I think. The first was Base and it sucked. I hated it. It's a loud, drunk, party hostel. The work for accommodation was not worth it and not even feasible after I began leading the team here, so I was more than happy to move out and find a smaller hostel that offered some peace, quite, and privacy. That hostel, the Dorset House, was sweet, but a long walk to town and had some things that annoyed me like six dollars per hour for internet. Even not using it, the principle of it offended me. So I decided to look at a few other options. I spent an afternoon looking at a half dozen or so other hostels all over Christchurch. I ended up walking past a hostel not even on my list to check out that happened to be down the road from one I wanted to look at. The first thing that struck me was the it was named Shalom. This is a greeting that connotes peace and well-being. That was enough for me to at least duck in. As it turns out, a share room (meaning four beds) was only $20 a night, pretty cheap as compared to the $27 that Base charges for a 10 bed dorm room. On top of that, if you book five days you get two free. That brings the weekly average to a little over $14 a night. The cheapest I've seen anywhere. It is, actually, further than Dorset, about one km from the city center, but I like to walk. It gives me time to think and pray and sing. Which passers by seem to get a kick out of. And, on top of all that, it is really small with only 10 rooms and 23 beds. So far (I've been there since Sunday night) I am alone in the room. Most other hostels charge $55 - $80 for a private room. Sweet as!
It also has a sauna, a hammock in the garden, and a lounge area. I get up everyday, shower, make breakfast that I eat at a picnic table outside while I read my Bible and write in my journal. I'm lovin it. I go to work, come home, make dinner and watch the news (ok, ok... the Daily Show) and then go upstairs to read in my own room and then sleep in silence. Way better than competing for sleep with a TV, live band at the bar either downstairs or next door, and drunk roommates. God is good.

Other than that, there is not too much else that is exciting. Work takes up most my time and the other free time I have is spent reading or walking. I am getting into great shape, which is sweet, although I keep losing weight. The scale at the new hostel has me down to about 148 lbs, which is the lightest I think I've ever been since birth or so. I eat all the time, too. I guess maybe giving up fast food for lent could be a contributing factor. Oh, and walking ALL THE TIME. Oh, well. I guess I should invest in some protein shakes or something.

We do hope to go sea kayaking this weekend and the place we are going has a boats that go out and find where the dolphins are playing and then tell you how to get there so you can swim with them and hang out. Fred and Gen, the French Canadians that have just left, did this a couple weekends ago and said it was fantastic. So I hope that works out.

Anyway, that's about all I got for now. My time is running low and I must finish up.

I love you all and miss you daily.

Pray for me as I pray for you.

Thank you for your love and support and I cannot wait to see you again!

Ta,
Dan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb