I try to be like Grace Kelly but all her looks were too sad...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
April 7th 2007
Published: April 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, it's that time again. Time for me to ramble on. And it's about freakin time, too. I love Christchurch and my time here has been good, but it's been too long. I'm so ready to travel again its unreal. So, as of Sunday the 15th I'll be rollin' away on the Kiwi Experience to see the rest of New Zealand and have some relaxing holiday time. I hope to be able to keep up to date with you guys while on the road, though it may not be as often. Its hard to say.

So, what's happened here? Well, my camera is broken and I have to buy a new one. That's lame. But, God did provide me with a buyer for the car that the Swedish girls bestowed unto me and now there is a little old crazy man who can get to and from the doctor. I sold it to him for $400. Not much to sell a car for, I know, but considering I got it for free, I'd say that is was well worth the small amount of effort and stress that it took to sell the thing. And, now, like I said, that crazy old man is mobile. And what else do the roads need but one more crazy old man?

I was thinking about making a trip to Fiji, but, after some prayerful consideration and thinking out loud on the phone with my wise mother, I feel like God is telling me not to go. I know it would be a blast, I mean, it's Fiji. And the Dominican girls that invited me are crazy and fun and full of Christ's love and I had the best time ever when they were here in Christchurch. But, Fiji is expensive. It would be around $850 to fly there and back. Then around $50 a night for accommodation and food. For two weeks-ish that's a lot. And right now I have enough money to travel in New Zealand and not work for a couple of months. I think that I just need to do that, rather than head to Fiji then back here to work... again... So, I guess maybe Fiji will have to wait. But that's ok, because I'm thinking of becoming a professional traveler. Just globe trot for the next decade or two. Maybe mission work. I want to learn Spanish. Just a thought.

I did get some really bad news that one of the guys in my SALT group (that is my small group from high school youth group. It was a handful of guys my age that really formed my last couple years of high school. These are the people I keep in touch with from New Jersey. My support group.) has passed away. Tom Hare was a guy that I had a great time around. We used to jam out together and wanted to start a band back while I was still a punk-rocker, if you can imagine such a thing. He was a very funny and very smart individual who will be missed. I am sorry that I did not keep up with him very well after high school, but if you all could pray for his family and friends, I would be much obliged. He is missed.


I was just reading over my email and it seems really heavy. Wow, sorry about that. I guess I do want to make it clear that I'm doing well. I'm loving my trip and am so glad to be here. God is doing some really great work in my life. I'm here to meet with him and he is meeting with me. I still could use your prayers, though.

I am still unsure about what I will be doing in a few months when I get back to America, but I think that I'll be attending seminary at some point, although I'm not sure when or where. I will not have time, I don't think, to jump in for the fall 2007 semester, but shortly thereafter I hope to figure it out. There are a lot of things that are jumping around in my head and I'm just trying to let go and let God.

Also, some other good news, I found out that I don't have to get myself to the North Island for Kiwi Experience, but that I can just start from Christchurch and take the bus up there. So, that'll save me some bills, which is really nice!

I guess that's about all for now. I really hope that everything State side is going well. I think about all of you often and wonder how you are. Work, school, God, love, dreams... I can't wait to catch up in person.

Thank you for your love and thank you for your prayers. Take care.

I love you all.

Dan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.4kb