Day 5/6/7 Taupo/Wellington


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
March 9th 2009
Published: March 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bungy Jump!Bungy Jump!Bungy Jump!

Such a rush! and the view was amazing!
DAY 5 (Feb 10th)
Today we were on our way to Taupo. It was a longer trip on the bus today. There were a few different activity options once we got there. Some people did a high ropes course, others went on a shotover jet down the river and others of us spent time in town. I wandered around with Nicola Sean and Josh, had lunch and played in the park.
My excitement was later in the afternoon when a few of us went Bungee Jumping! I was pumped. I wasn’t nervous at all until I got to the edge of the platform and looked down at the river below, but there was no backing out for me! I jumped off a platform on the side of a cliff that went down into a bright blue river. It was beautiful, with the rocks, the trees and the bluest river I have ever seen. It was an exciting rush; I’d do it again in a heartbeat.
That night we went on a cowboys/Indians/random pirate themed dinner cruise on Lake Taupo. We got to see interesting rock carvings hidden in the cliffs along the lake and the sunset was amazing in the clouds. That night we also ran into another tour group themed party… Toga party…

DAY 6 (feb 11th)
On the road again… This time to Wellington, the capital of New Zealand. Along the way we made a stop at Mt. Victoria overlooking the city. Wellington is known as one of the windiest cities in the world. On the way we also drove through some of the areas where the Lord of the Rings was filmed. I could have done a tour of the movie scenes but it was raining. This afternoon some of the girls and I went out for pizza, and it actually tasted like real pizza… greasy and not good for you. It was much colder today, I actually wore a jacket for awhile.
Later that night our entire group went out for a three course meal at the blend bar. We basically had the entire place to ourselves… minus the few people along the side. Note… Cheesecake does not taste like typical American cheesecake. We played a few games and got to dance on the tables! My friend Bre went to Norway and danced on the tables there too… an interesting concept but I thought it was a lot of fun!

DAY 7 (Feb 12th)

No travel today! Another day spent in Wellington. Today was the only day I didn’t do anything that was organized and the only day I got to sleep in past 7:15 but it was the worst weather we had seen throughout the entire trip. It was pouring. I was planning to go for a run down by the waterfront but I didn’t want to have to put wet tennis shoes into my PACKED suitcase. Instead I went to breakfast with Alison, Zara, Craig, and Brian. Then we went to the museum and shopping. Zara is obsessed with shopping. Alison and I bought bright blue ponchos… we definitely looked that the ridiculous tourist but we didn’t care. I found a sweet wooden carving I wanted to buy but I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to get it through customs in Australia.
After shopping Gary joined us and the six of us went bowling. It wasn’t something I was looking to do in New Zealand but there wasn’t a whole lot to do in the rain. We were soaked by the time we made it back to our hotel (we ditched our ponchos earlier in the day). That night I did laundry and had a much needed chill night.



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Dinner CruiseDinner Cruise
Dinner Cruise

Cliff Carvings
Dinner CruiseDinner Cruise
Dinner Cruise

Nick's pirate sword broke... very sad times...
Dinner CruiseDinner Cruise
Dinner Cruise

Nicola and I... I will be visiting her in Sydney in May!
Dinner CruiseDinner Cruise
Dinner Cruise

Brian and I
WellingtonWellington
Wellington

At the lookout on Mt. Victoria
Blend DinnerBlend Dinner
Blend Dinner

Dancing on Tables! since when do places encourage this?
Blend DinnerBlend Dinner
Blend Dinner

Joel Broke his foot after the dinner cruise in Taupo, needs surgery...but he's still out having a good time!
Wellington day 2Wellington day 2
Wellington day 2

Alison and I with our sweet ponchos
BowlingBowling
Bowling

The girls... Zara, Alison and I
BowlingBowling
Bowling

Craig...


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb